News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Rajasthan: 4 of 7 MPs BJP fielded win

Rajasthan: 4 of 7 MPs BJP fielded win

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra
December 03, 2023 20:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Four of seven Bharatiya Janata Party MPs who fought the Rajasthan assembly elections won their respective seats while three others lost the polls.

IMAGE: BJP Jhotwara candidate Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore shows victory sign, in Jaipur on Sunday. Photograph: ANI Photo

Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) convener and Nagaur MP Hanuman Beniwal also won from the Khinwsar assembly constituency by defeating BJP candidate Rewant Ram with a narrow margin of 2,059 votes.

In the November 25 polls, the BJP had fielded Rajsamand MP Diya Kumari, Jaipur Rural MP Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Ajmer MP Bhagirath Choudhary, Alwar MP Baba Balak Nath, Jhunjhunu MP Narendra Kumar, Jalore MP Devji Patel and Rajya Sabha MP Kirodi Lal Meena.


Diya Kumari, member of erstwhile Jaipur royal family, won Vidhyadhar Nagar seat with a huge margin of 71,368 votes. She defeated Congress candidate Sitaram Agarwal.

Vidhyadhar Nagar seat was held by former vice president Bhairaon Singh Shekhawat's son-in-law Narpat Singh Rajvi but he was shifted to Chittorgarh in order to accommodate Diya Kumari.

However, Rajvi lost Chittorgarh seat where BJP rebel Chandrabhan Singh Aakya won. Rajvi managed to secure third position there.

Two-time MP and former Union minister Rajyavardhan Rathore won Jhotwara seat by defeating Congress candidate Abhishek Choudhary with a margin of 50,167 votes. Rathore, a retired army officer and former Olympian, is BJP national spokesperson.

Alwar MP Baba Balak Nath, who contested the elections from Tijara seat, won with a margin of 6,173 votes. He defeated Congress candidate Imran Khan.

Rajya Sabha MP Meena also won the Sawai Madhopur seat with a margin of 22,510 votes. He defeated Congress candidate Danish Abrar, who was the advisor to outgoing Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.

The three BJP MPs who lost the assembly polls included Narendra Kumar (Mandawa seat), Bhagirath Choudhary (Kishangarh) and Devji Patel (Sanchore).

Devji Patel was defeated by BJP rebel Jiva Ram Chaudhary who contested as an independent candidate. Congress candidate and minister Sukhram Vishnoi secured second position on Sanchore seat.

While Narendra Kumar was defeated by Congress candidate Rita Chaudhary by a margin of 18,717, Bhagirath Choudhary secured third position in Kishangarh constituency where Congress candidate Vikash Choudhary won.

Vikash Choudhary is a BJP rebel who was denied ticket following which he joined the Congress.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.