» News » 2-state assembly results: Big winners and losers

2-state assembly results: Big winners and losers

Last updated on: October 24, 2019 19:54 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Who were the big winners and losers in the Maharashtra and Haryana polls?

Take a look.


Maharashtra Chief Minister Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of Maharashtra, retained his Nagpur South West seat for the fifth consecutive term.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar retained his Karnal seat defeating his nearest Congress rival Tarlochan Singh. The BJP leader defeated Tarlochan, former head of the state's minorities commission, by a margin of 45,188 votes, according to the Election Commission. The winning margin is down compared to the gap of 63,773 votes in the last assembly elections in 2014, when Khattar became an MLA for the first time

Making his political debut, Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray won from the Worli assembly constituency in Mumbai. The 29-year-old Yuva Sena chief, who is the first member from Thackeray family to contest an election, defeated his NCP rival Suresh Mane by a margin of over 70,000 votes.

Wrestler Babita Phogat, who contested the Haryana assembly elections from Dadri, on a BJP ticket was unable to win this dangal. She lost to Jannayak Janta Party's candidate -- Satpal Sangwan -- by over 4,500 votes. 

BJP leader and Maharashtra cabinet minister Pankaja Munde has accepted her defeat from Parli assembly seat at the hands of her cousin and NCP leader Dhananjay Munde.

Wrestler-turned-politician Yogeshwar Dutt will have to settle for silver; he lost from Baroda, Haryana.

Former Maharashtra deputy chief minister and NCP leader Ajit Pawar won from the Baramati seat by a huge margin of 1,65,265 votes. Pawar, nephew of NCP president Sharad Pawar, polled 1,95,641 votes, while his nearest rival, Gopichand Padalkar of the BJP, bagged just 30,376 votes. In 2014, Ajit Pawar had won from the seat with a margin of 89,791 votes. With this thumping victory, Ajit Pawar retained
Baramati for a sixth straight term.

Jannayak Janta Party leader Dushyant Chautala has won over his nearest BJP rival Prem Lata from Uchana Kalan constituency in Haryana's Jind district. The JJP leader attained victory over Lata, who is a sitting MLA and wife of former Union Minister Birender Singh.

Former chief minister Ashok Chavan won in Bhokar in Nanded district of Maharashtra. 

Senior NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal won against his Shiv Sena rival Sambhaji Pawar in Yeola.

Former chief minister Prithviraj Chavan of the Congress won against BJP's Atul Bhosale in Karad-South. 

The former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda has won from his stronghold Garhi Sampla-Kiloi in Rohtak district.

Former Indian hockey captain and BJP candidate from Pehowa, Sandeep Singh has won.

BJP state president Chandrakant Patil won from Kothurd in Pune.

BJP's Nitesh Rane has won over Shiv Sena rival Satish Sawant in Kankavali in Maharashtra. 


Praniti Shinde, daughter of former home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, has won. She is the sitting MLA from the Solapur constituency and seeking re-election.

Randeep Singh Surjewala has lost from Haryana's Kaithal seat. The Congress leader lost by 567 votes to BJP’s Leela Ram Gujjar. It was a see-saw battle till the last with both candidates taking slender leads as the counting progressed.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Related News: Maharashtra, Haryana
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus