NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Parliament's monsoon session to begin from July 18

Parliament's monsoon session to begin from July 18

Last updated on: June 25, 2018 14:54 IST

The monsoon session of parliament is set to begin on July 18 and end on August 10 with the triple talaq bill among the legislative items topping the government's agenda.

The session will have nearly 18 sittings, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar told reporters in New Delhi.

The Cabinet Committee of Parliamentary Affairs, chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, met to recommend the dates.


President Ram Nath Kovind will now formally convene the session.

"We seek the support and cooperation of opposition parties. There are many important items on the legislative agenda that the government wants to take up in the Monsoon session," Kumar said.

More than six ordinances will be taken up, he said.

The triple talaq bill, which has been passed by the Lok Sabha and is pending in the Rajya Sabha, will be among the top priorities of the government, the minister added.

He said the government will push for constitutional status for the National Commission for OBCs.

The National Commission for Medical Education Bill and the transgender bill will also be taken up.

With P J Kurien's term ending at the end of this month, the election to choose the deputy chairman for the Rajya Sabha will be taken up in this session, Kumar said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.