» News » New chiefs announced for BSF, ITBP and NSG

New chiefs announced for BSF, ITBP and NSG

Source: PTI
December 18, 2012 17:41 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Subhash Joshi was on Tuesday appointed as the new chief of Border Security Force while special secretary in the home ministry Ajay Chadha would now head the Indo-Tibetan Border Police.

Joshi, who is at present director general of the elite National Security Guard, will lead the 1.8 lakh strong BSF as the post had fallen vacant on December 1 due to retirement of U K Bansal.

A 1976 batch IPS officer from Uttrakhand cadre, Joshi is due to retire in February 2014. He has also served in the Central Reserve Police Force as special director general of police.

In another appointment cleared by the appointments committee of the Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Chadha, special secretary (internal security), has been appointed as director general of ITBP.

A 1977 batch IPS officer of AGMU cadre, Chadha will have a tenure till August next year. The post had fallen vacant after Ranjit Sinha was appointed as director of CBI.

Special Director General of BSF Arvind Ranjan has been appointed as director general, NSG.

Ranjan is a 1977 batch IPS officer of Kerala and has service till April 2015.

All the appointments will be effective from the dates these officers assume charge of their posts and till their superannuation or until further orders, whichever event takes place earlier, an official order said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus