» News » Congress govt in MP stares at collapse after 22 MLAs resign

Congress govt in MP stares at collapse after 22 MLAs resign

Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: March 10, 2020 17:09 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The number of Congress MLAs who have resigned from the Madhya Pradesh assembly rose to 22 on Tuesday afternoon with the resignation of one more legislator, sources said.

MLA from Hatpipalya (Dewas district) Manoj Choudhary has resigned, they said.

Like others who have resigned, he too is a supporter of Jyotiraditya Scindia.


In a major setback to the Congress, Scindia, one of its senior leaders, resigned from the party, saying it was time for him to move on.

Besides Choudhary, others who have resigned so far include ministers Tulsi Silawat, Govind Singh Rajput, Dr Prabhuram Choudhry, Imarti Devi, Pradyumna Singh Tomar and Mahendra Singh Sisodia, and MLAs Hardeep Singh Dang, Rajyavardhan Singh, Brajendra Singh Yadav, Jaspal Jajji, Suresh Dhakad, Jaswant Jatav, Raksha Santram Sironia, Munnalal Goyal, Ranveer Singh Jatav, OPS Bhadoria, Kamlesh Jatav, Giriraj Dandotiya, Raghuraj Kansana, Aidalsingh Kansana and Biasahulal Singh.

Several office-bearers of state and district units of Congress who owe allegiance to Scindia have also resigned from the party.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.