News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » 18 MLAs backing Dinakaran disqualified by TN Speaker

18 MLAs backing Dinakaran disqualified by TN Speaker

Source: PTI
Last updated on: September 18, 2017 15:21 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Eighteen rebel All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam MLAs were on Monday disqualified by Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal amid the power tussle between chief minister K Palaniswami and sidelined leader TTV Dinakaran.

Dinakaran said his MLAs will approach the court against the disqualification even as the rebels dubbed the move as a “murder of democracy”.

“Our MLAs will move the court and we will get justice,” he told reporters at Kancheepuram district.

The action against the 18 MLAs, who had revolted against Palaniswami last month, was taken under anti-defection and disqualification rules of 1986, said a statement from Assembly Secretary K Bhoopathy.

It said the rules were in accordance with the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

“With the Honourable Speaker ordering for the disqualification of MLAs from September 18, 2017, they have lost their membership,” of the House, the statement said.

MLAs who have been disqualified are Thangatamilselvan, R Murugan, Mariappan Kennedy, K Kathirkamu, C Jayanthi Padmanabhan, P Palaniappan, V Senthil Balaji, S Muthiah, P Vetrivel, NG Parthiban, M Kothandapani, TA Elumalai, M Rengasamy, R Thangadurai, R Balasubramani, SG Subramanian, R Sundarraj and K Uma Maheswari.

Decrying the Speaker’s move, Vetrivel said, “This is the height of mistakes being committed by those in power,” in an apparent reference to Palaniswami.

“This is the height of mistakes being committed by those in power… It is not easy to disqualify even one MLA...This is murder of democracy,” he said in response to the disqualification of the 18 MLAs including himself. 

He said it was for the court to decide whether or not the disqualification is valid.

“According to us, it is not valid,” he added.    

To a question, he declined to spell out his faction’s next course of action, saying “not everything can be revealed now.” 

He, however, said, “Let the floor test happen.”

The action was taken to ensure the government’s survival in a possible floor test since Palaniswami did not have the required 117 MLAs’ support in the 234-member House, he claimed.

Dinakaran loyalist and Perambur MLA, P Vetrivel, said they will move the court “as soon as possible” against Dhanapal’s decision.

The 18 MLAs, who were disqualified on Monday besides another, had on August 22 met the Tamil Nadu Governor Vidyasagar and conveyed that they had lost confidence in Palaniswami.             

One of the dissident MLAs, STK Jakkaiyan, had later switched camps to support Palaniswami.

These MLAs had since been demanding the removal of the chief minister and have been hopping from resort to resort in Puducherry and Coorg apparently not to be persuaded to join the Palaniswami camp.

Their August 22 meeting with Rao had come a day after the formal merger of the two factions led by Palaniswami and then rebel leader and now Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam.

Earlier, Chief Government Whip S Rajendran had urged the Speaker to disqualify the said MLAs for “anti-party activities” following their revolt against the Chief Minister. 

Though the Speaker had issued notices to all the dissident MLAs seeking their individual presence, they had, however, not turned up. But Jakkaiyan had met the Speaker and given an explanation.

A resolution adopted at a meeting chaired by Palaniswami on August 28 had said Dinakaran was “removed” from the post of Deputy General Secretary.

Opposition parties have since been insisting the Governor direct a floor test for the Palaniswami government for proving its majority in the assembly.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.