» News » Mamata brings back many top-level police officers removed by EC

Mamata brings back many top-level police officers removed by EC

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra
May 05, 2021 23:48 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Within hours of assuming office, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday initiated a major reshuffle in the police hierarchy, transferring 29 top-level police officers, mostly those who were shifted by the election commission prior to the polls.


IMAGE: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee inspects a guard of honour on her arrival at her office after her swearing-in ceremony, at Nabanna in Kolkata, on Wednesday. Photograph: Handout by WB CMO via PTI Photo

Among the top-level officers who have been brought back to their former positions are Director General (DG) Virendra, Addiontal Director General (ADG) (Law and Order) Jawed Shamim and DG Security Vivek Sahay, an order issued on Wednesday evening said.

Virendra, who was transferred by the election commission and Neeraj Nayan Pandey made DG in his place, has been reinstated to his former position.

Pandey has been made DG (Fire Services).

Similarly, ADG (Law and Order) Jagmohan has been transferred to the civil defence and Jawed Shamim who was moved out by the commission alleging police excess during a left rally at Nabanna has been brought back as the ADG (Law and Order).

In a separate order, Vivek Sahay former DG Security, who was removed by the poll panel alleging lapse in security arrangements of the chief minister after she was injured in a rally in Purba Medinipur district, has been brought back to his former position.

Gyanwant Singh who worked as ADG Security during the election has retained his post and he has been given the additional responsibility of ADG and Inspector General of Police of Armed Police.

Another transferred officer Sanjay Singh, officer-on-compulsory-waiting has been posted as ADG and IG of Western range.

In the morning chief minister Mamata Banerjee had indicated that she was not happy with the inefficiency of the police in different areas.

"The administration was not under my control for the last three months. It was under the control of the election commission. There is some inefficiency. We will take decisions regarding this soon," she had said.

The state home department, in addition to this, has made some significant transfers like bringing back Monoj Verma as the commissioner of Barackpore Commissionerate.

Verma was transferred from Barackpore and was made IG of Counter Insurgency Force by the commission.

Similarly, Mitesh Jain who was made the commissioner of Asansol-Durgapur has been sent to compulsory waiting bringing Ajay Thakur as the commissioner of Asansol-Durgapur Commissionerate.

Thakur is presently posted as DIG, CID in state police.

Two more commissioners were transferred.

Gourav Sharma presently working as Commissioner of Chanadannagar police Commissionerate has been send to Siliguri police Commissionerate as commissioner and Arnab Ghosh presently posted as member secretary of West Bengal Police Reform Board has been made the commissioner of Chandannagar in his Sharmas place.

DIG, Barasat range Mukesh has also been sent to officer- on-compulsory waiting.

The government has transferred SPs of 16 districts including Sunderban, Purulia, Coochbehar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri, Baruipur Police District, Purba Medinipur, Howrah, Jangipur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Purba Bardhaman, Jhargram, Diamond Harbour and Dakshin Dinajpur.

Among them there are some officers who were shunted by the commission during election.

Bhola Nath Pandey who was transferred by the commission following attack on BJP President J P Nadda in Diamond Harbour has been made SP of Alipurduar.

Similarly, K Kannan who was sent to OCW (officer-on-compulsory-waiting) during the election was made SP of Coochbehar and Soumya Roy who was transferred following the controversy of his wife contesting in the election has been brought back as SP Howrah (Rural).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.