News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 1 year ago  » News » Karnataka: BJP wins Jayanagar in recounting with 16 votes

Karnataka: BJP wins Jayanagar in recounting with 16 votes

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra
May 14, 2023 02:26 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Bharatiya Janata Party candidate C K Ramamurthy won the Jayanagar seat in Karnataka by a slender margin of 16 votes against his Congress rival Soumya Reddy on Saturday, officials said.

Image only for representation. Photograph: ANI Photo

'The result was announced by the officials at the Counting Centre at S S M R V College in Jayanagar late tonight,' a state Information Department official said in a statement.

As the victory margin was too narrow, Ramamurthy had demanded recounting of votes.


Tension prevailed at the R V Institute of Management in Jayanagar where the counting was taking place as the Congress state president D K Shivakumar along with state unit working president Ramalinga Reddy, who is also the father of Sowmya Reddy, and many other leaders staged a demonstration outside the polling booth, demanding justice.

They alleged misuse of government machinery to favour Ramamurthy.

Election officials declared Ramamurthy as the winner with a thin margin of 16 votes.

With this, the Congress has won 135 seats in the 224-member Karnataka assembly.

The BJP has won 66 seats and the Janata Dal-Secular 19, according to the Election Commission website.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.