» News » JD-S ministers resign in Karnataka: CMO

JD-S ministers resign in Karnataka: CMO

July 08, 2019 17:11 IST

All nine Janata Dal-Secular ministers in Karnataka have submitted their resignations to facilitate a cabinet reshuffle, Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy's office said on Monday.

IMAGE: H D Kumaraswamy's government in Bengaluru is under threat after 13 MLAs tendered their resignation to the Speaker on Saturday. Photograph: Shailendra Bhojak/PTI Photo

Their resignations came shortly after 21 ministers of coalition partner Congress quit the cabinet.


"All JD-S ministers have also resigned like the 21 Congress ministers who have submitted their resignations. The Cabinet will be reshuffled at the earliest," the Chief Minister's Office said on Twitter.

The crisis in Karnataka was triggered by the resignation of 13 MLAs of the ruling coalition.

The JD-S share in the cabinet is 12, including the chief minister, while that of the Congress is 22, including independent R Shankar who was inducted as minister last month under the party's quota.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.