» News » 5-member committee to decide on new Andhra capital

5-member committee to decide on new Andhra capital

Source: ANI
April 26, 2014 12:18 IST
Get Rediff News into your Inbox:

The Centre has constituted a five-member expert committee to study various alternatives available to it to decide on a new capital for Andhra Pradesh.

This committee has been tasked with the responsibility of making the appropriate recommendations under Section 6 of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.

The committee will chaired by former IAS officer K C Siva Ramakrishnan, who is currently a Research Professor and Chairman, Governing Board, CPR.

The other four members are Dr.Rathin Roy, Director, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi, Aromar Revi, Director, Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bengaluru, Prof.Jagan Shah, Director, National Institute of Urban Affairs, New Delhi and Prof K T Ravindran, Former Dean School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi.

The terms of reference of the committee are:

(1) To study various alternatives for locating the new capital of the successor State of Andhra Pradesh and evaluate their comparative suitability based on available data, site visits and consultations with the stakeholders, central government and the existing government of Andhra Pradesh and the successor State of Andhra Pradesh and submit its report within 31st August, 2014,

(2) To evaluate the possible alternatives and make appropriate recommendations based on the following considerations:

a) Availability of sufficient land, water and other essential natural resources with due regard to the possibility of de-reservation of degraded forest land.

b) Conduct an assessment of the potential for planned growth for the estimated population with appropriate zoning regulations as well as the feasibility of accommodating large structures to house the Raj-Bhawan, State Legislature (Assembly and Council), Secretariat, High Court, office buildings, guest houses, residential quarters and physical infrastructure including stadia, conference halls, convention centres, hotels, hospitals, schools, colleges, educational and training institutions, libraries, museums, theatres, places of recreation and tourism, parks and markets etc.

c) Potential for connectivity by rail, road and air with various districts of the successor State of Andhra Pradesh and the present common capital of Hyderabad and other major cities of the region as well as the possibility to develop rapid mass transit systems within the city.

d) Assess the potential for developing a vibrant economic, social and cultural infrastructure for a symbiotic growth with the other important cities in the region.

3. The Committee while making its recommendations will inter-alia consider allied issues such as: a) The least possible dislocation to existing agriculture systems as well as ensure minimum resettlement of people and their habitations. b) Preservation of local ecology and natural features including water bodies. c) Promoting environmentally sustainable growth coupled with measures for pollution mitigation including solid and liquid waste management. d) Vulnerability assessment from natural disasters like floods, cyclones and earthquakes. e) Assess the scope for minimizing the cost of construction and acquisition of land f) Ascertain the availability of raw materials, skilled and unskilled labour etc. required for the construction of a new capital.

Any suggestion which is specific to the issues mentioned in the terms of reference of the committee that any member of public or any organisation would like to give to the committee may be communicated by E mail to: or in writing to Centre-State Division, Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India, 5th Floor, NDCC -II Building, Jaisingh Road, N.Delhi 110001 latest by 7th May 2014.

Get Rediff News delivered into your Inbox.
Source: ANI