» News » AAP jaisa koi... Historic one-sided poll victories

AAP jaisa koi... Historic one-sided poll victories

February 10, 2015 16:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Aam Aadmi Party recorded a stunning victory in the Delhi polls, leading in 67 out of 70 seats. This is the biggest victory margin for any political party in Delhi since the first assembly elections took place in 1993.

It is not every year that such a one-sided win is seen in Indian politics. takes a look at record-setting wins.        

Supporters of Aam Aadmi Party celebrate the victory in Delhi. Photograph: Amit Dave/Reuters

It’s been a terrific Tuesday for the Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi! The Arvind Kejriwal-led party has had a dream run in the capital where it is now leading in 67 of the 70 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party has been decimated by the AAP which now enjoys an absolute majority.

Politics in India has now seen such a one-sided victory for over six years.

2009: Sikkim Democratic Front won all 32 seat

Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling has occupied the chair since 1994

The scale of AAP's victory was reminiscent of the victories recorded by Sikkim Democratic Front which made a clean sweep of all 32 seats in 2009.  In 2004, the Sikkim Democratic Front won 31 out of the 32 assembly seats.

 Last June, the SDK returned to power for the six consecutive term winning 22 of the 32 seats in the assembly

The June 2014 victory brought Chief Minister Pawan Chamling a step closer to being the longest-serving CM in the country, a record held by former West Bengal Chief Minister Jyoti Basu of the Communist Party of India-Marxist, who held the post for 23 years. Chamling has been the CM of Sikkim since December 1994.

2010: 206 out of 243 seats for JDU-BJP in Bihar

JD-U's Nitish Kumar waves to crowds in Patna. Photograph: Reuters

In 2010, the Janata Dal-United and Bharatiya Janata Party alliance won 206 of the 243 seats in Bihar. 

Riding a massive wave on the theme of development, Nitish Kumar led the combine to a landslide four-fifth majority in the assembly elections routing Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal-Lok Janshaktu Party alliance and a weak Congress to return to power for a second consecutive term.

From 143 seats in the 2005 elections, the ruling alliance notched a spectacular tally of 206 seats in the 243-member House in November 2010.  The JD-U had bagged  115 seats, its then ally the BJP secured 91.

1991: AIADMK-Congress won 225 of the 234 seats

Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and AIADMK's Jayalalithaa in Delhi in April 1999. Photograph: Reuters

In the 1991 assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-Congress alliance won 225 of the 234 seats.

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa became the chief minister, her first term in office.

The alliance decimated the M Karunanidhi-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam which only won two out of the 234 seats. The public view that the DMK had close ties with the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam, which was behind the assassination of Rajiv Gandhi, led to its humiliating defeat.

1996: DMK-Congress alliance bagged 221 of 234 seats      

DMK chief Karunanidhi. Photograph: PTI

In the subsequent elections held in 1996, the DMK-Congress the alliance won 221 of 234 seats. Fortunes had turned for the incumbent AIADMK government which was defeated in a landslide with its leader and outgoing chief minister Jayalalithaa losing the polls from the Bargur constituency.

1989: 32 out of 32 for Sikkim Sangram Party

Nar Bahadur Bhandari founded the Sikkim Sangram Party

The Sikkim Sangram Party won all the 32 seats in the assembly in 1989.

The party was formed in May 1984 by Nar Bahadur Bhandari, a prominent politician and the three time chief minister of Sikkim. It was formed after dissolving Sikkim Janata Party.

Also read:

5 Reasons Why the BJP Got It Wrong In Delhi

Kejriwal and the art of stopping Modi-Shah

The Aam Aadmi who defeated Kiran Bedi

Delhi polls: The biggest WINNERS and LOSERS


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus