» News » BJP gives shocker to Nitish-Lalu combine ahead of assembly polls

BJP gives shocker to Nitish-Lalu combine ahead of assembly polls

Source: PTI
July 10, 2015 18:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Months before the assembly elections are held in Bihar, challenger Bharatiya Janata Paryu has bested the Nitish Kumar and Lalu Yadav combine in elections to 24 seats in the Bihar Legislative Council.

Of the 9 results declared, 7 has been won by BJP while Janata Dal-United scored victory at two places, Election Commission said.

The polling had taken place for 24 seats of the Legislative Council from local bodies on July 7 last. The biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council from local authorities is considered as semi-final before crucial assembly poll in September-October this year.

As per trends available, BJP nominees are ahead in six other places while its ally is ahead on one seat.

The council poll is the first test of coming together of old rivals Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad to take on a resurging BJP.   

Out of nine results declared by Election Commission, BJP has won at Aurangabad, Rohtas-cum-Kaimur, Saran, Gopalganj, Darbhanga, Samastipur and Purnea-cum-Araria-cum Kishanganj.

Ruling JD-U has won from CM’s native Nalanda and Muzaffarpur.

As per trend available, there is bad news for Nitish Kumar party in Patna where Rashtriya Janata Dal rebel Ritlal Yadav who is contesting as an Independent is marching ahead of rivals.

BJP has won from Lalu Prasad’s native Saran district from where saffron party Sachidanand Singh defeated JD-U candidate and presently Deputy Chairman of Council Salim Parvez by a handsome margin of over 900 votes.

In Darbhanga, sitting RJD MLC Misrilal Yadav lost to BJP's Sunil Singh.

Of the 24 Legislative Council seats, 13 were with JD-U, BJP 5, RJD 3 and Independent 3.

As per seat-sharing arrangements in Secular alliance, JD-U and RJD fielded candidates on 10 seats each while Congress put up its nominees at three places and NCP one.

In the NDA camp, BJP had fielded candidates at 18 places, Lok Janshakti Party of Union minister Ramvilas Paswan 4 and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party of Union minister of State Upendra Kushwaha at two. 

-- With Inputs from MI Khan

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus