You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Report
Search: The Web
   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print | Get latest news on your desktop

Amarnath shrine board members resign en masse
Mukhtar Ahmad In Srinagar
Get news updates:What's this?
August 06, 2008 13:40 IST
Last Updated: August 06, 2008 14:16 IST

All the eight members of the Shri Amarnath Shrine Board (SASB) Wednesday sent in their resignation to state Governor NN Vohra who also heads SASB to pave way for its reconstitution. 

The step is seen as a beginning towards resolution of the Amarnath Shrine land row which has led to large-scale violence in both regions of the state for over a month now.

"The resignations are under the active consideration of the governor", said a spokesman of SASB here this afternoon.

It may be recalled that Governor, in his meeting with the Shri Amarnathji Yatra Sangarash Samiti (SAYSS), had mentioned that the induction of eminent persons from Jammu and Kashmir [Images] regions would inspire confidence in the functioning of the shrine board.

The members who have resigned are Justice (Retd) G D Sharma, Prof Vishnu Murti Shastri, Sunil Sachdeva, Manoj Gaur, Dr Vimla Dhar, Professor Neerja Mattoo, Raghu Modi and Dr Arun Kumar.  

 Email  |    Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback