Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Jharkhand: 3 independent MLAs free to vote

September 14, 2006 11:00 IST

Related Articles
More Reports from Jharkhand
Today's Top Reports
The Best Columns

Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Inder Singh Namdhari has deferred the decision on the disqualification petitions against the three legislators who switched sides and paved the way for a trust vote against Chief Minister Arjun Munda.

The move will enable the three to vote in Thursday's trust vote and has reduced Chief Minister Arjun Munda's chances of proving his majority in the House.

Governor Syed Sibte Razi had directed the trial of strength to be taken up after four ministers -- Madhu Kora, Enos Ekka, Harinarain Rai, all independent legislators and Kamlesh Singh of the Nationalist Congress Party -- quit and withdrew support to the government on September 5, reducing it to a minority.

After the four withdrew, the NDA is left with 39 members in the 82-member House.

The United Progressive Alliance, on the other hand, claims the support of 43 legislators.

Railway Minister and RJD President Lalu Yadav on Wednesday released a list of 43 MLAs in New Delhi.

But the UPA will also need the support of two UGDP MLAs, Joba Manjhi and Bandhu Tirkey, Forward Bloc MLA Aparna Sen, CPI-ML (Liberation) MLA Vinod Kumar Singh and Independent Stephen Marandi.

The UPA has also claimed the support of expelled Forward Bloc MLA Bhanu Pratap Sahi, whom the Speaker has declared as an unattached member, who is free to vote on any side.

The state capital is under tight security ahead of the trust vote.

According to Senior Superintendent of Police R K Mullick adequate security forces have been deployed and barricades have been put up.

The numbers

The United Progressive Alliance

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha: 17

Congress: 9

Rashtriya Janata Party: 7

The National Democratic Alliance

Bharatiya Janata Party: 30

Janata Dal-United: 6

All Jharkhand Student Union: 2

Nominated MLA: 1


© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 14

Sub: J'khand: CM Munda quits?

If this is Indian 'democracy', then it doesn't take a brain surgeon to see why China will be a Superpower while India will remain one ...

Posted by labrea

Sub: Inevitable

With a party like BJP that has nothing but communal and divisive issues on its agenda, it is no surprise that they are being kicked ...

Posted by rizvi

Sub: Congress want to run govt by proxy

Sonia & Lalu will run the show by putting a nobody like Koda on the post of CM.What a decline of values in politics.

Posted by pradeep agarwal

Sub: NDA- As you sow so you reap

Forcefully seeking support from 5 independent MLAs to form the govt. was first and foremost the red signal for NDA- led Munda govt. to complete ...

Posted by john jantu soren

Sub: Jharkhand Fiasco.

It is a stupid game of numbers. Now again all scams ring leader will be the leader of the Jharkhand. Namdhari could have stopped this ...

Posted by Uday Kumar barahpuria



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.