Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Movies > PTI

Himesh takes on Rahman

October 18, 2007 12:54 IST

A still from Aap Kaa Surroor
Related Articles
Aneek wins, Himesh loses

Himesh Reshammiya's acting debut Aap Kaa Surroor has been nominated in three categories for the Bollywood Music Awards.

Reshammiya will compete with A R Rahman (Guru), Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy (Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna), Pritam (Dhoom: 2) and Jatin Lalit (Fanaa) for the award of Best Music Director, CEO of Bollywood Awards Kamal Dandona announced on October 17.

The nominations have been based on the preference expressed by Non Resident Indians in a poll conducted over last several weeks.

Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna [Images], Dhoom: 2, Omkara and Don have been nominated in two categories each.

Competing for the best male singers will be Himesh Reshammiya (Yeh Tera Mera Milna-Aap Kaa Surroor), Sukhvider Singh (Omkara-Omkara), Sukhbir (Dil Laga-Dhoom 2), Shaan (Main Hoon Don-Don) and Sonu Nigam [Images] (Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna-Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna).

Alisha Chinoy (It's Rocking-Kya Love Story Hai), Sunidhi Chauhan [Images] (Beedi-Omkara), Shreya Ghosal (Barso Re Megha-Guru), Chinmayee Keerthi (Maiya Maiya-Guru) and Alka Yagnik (Salaam-Umrao Jaan) have been nominated for best female singer.

For best song, Sunidhi Chauhan (Dhoom Machale-Dhoom 2), Himesh Reshammiya [Images] (Joot Nahi Bolna-Aap Kaa Surroor), Alisha Chinoy (It's Rocking-Kya Love Story Hai), Shaan (Main Hoon-Don) and Keerthi Chunmayee (Maiya Maiya-Guru) will compete.

The Bollywood music awards will be held on November 17 at a glittering star-studded ceremony at Trump Taj Mahal Casino in Atlantic City in New Jersey.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.