The Web


 Latest Business news on mobile: sms BIZ to 7333

Home > Business > Business Headline > Budget 2005-06 > Report

46 new trains: Take a look!

February 26, 2005 11:46 IST
Last Updated: February 26, 2005 12:40 IST

The Railway Minister Lalu Prasad on Saturday proposed to start 46 new trains in the Rail Budget for 2005-06.

The new trains proposed are:

  • Muzaffarpur-Howrah Jansadharan Express (weekly)
  • Bhagalpur-Malda Town Express (6 days a week)
  • Bilaspur-Tirupati Express 9 (bi-weekly)
  • Jabalpur-Bhopal Express (daily)
  • Chennai Egmore-Secunderabad Express (daily)
  • Madgaon-Mangalore Jan Shatabdi Express (6 days a week)
  • Bilaspur-Itwari Express (daily)
  • Mangalore-Shravanbelagola Passenger (after completion of new line)
  • Kumbakonam-Thanjavur Passenger (daily)
  • Chennai Egmore-Pondicherry Link Passenger (daily)
  • Guwahati-New Bongaigaon Passenger (daily)
  • Secunderabad-Nanded Express (daily)
  • Secunderabad-Nizamabad Passenger (daily)
  • Secunderabad-Bodhan Passenger (daily), and
  • Secunderabad-Basar Passenger (daily).

The new trains also include:

  • Gondia-Balaghat Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Udaipur-Jaipur Express (after gauge conversion)
  • Yesvantpur-Mangalore Express via Mysore (after gauge conversion)
  • Yesvantpur-Mangalore Express via Arsikere (after gauge conversion)
  • Madurai-Manamadurai Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Thanjavur-Thiruvarur Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Udaipur-Chittorgarh Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Kanpur-Farrukhabad Express (after gauge conversion)
  • Kanpur-Farrukhabad Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Lucknow-Farrukhabad Passenger (after gauge conversion)
  • Rupsa-Bangariposi Diesel Mobile Unit (after gauge conversion)
  • Ranchi-Lohardaga DMU (after gauge conversion)
  • Bankura-Rainagar DMU (after gauge conversion)

The remaining new trains proposed in the Rail Budget are:

  • Amritsar-Attari DMU (daily)
  • Ajmer-Rewari Passenger (daily)
  • Hubli-Chikjajur Passenger (daily)
  • Rajkot-Veraval Fast Passenger (daily)
  • Ahmedabad-Mehsana Passenger (daily)
  • Agra Cantt-Bayana MEMU (daily)
  • Parli-Parbhani Passenger (daily)
  • Jaipur-Rewari Passenger (daily)
  • Bina-Guna Passenger (daily)
  • Gondia-Chanda Fort Passenger (6 days a week)
  • Mathura-Bandikui Passenger (daily)
  • Belgaum-Miraj Passenger (5 days a week)
  • Gwalior-Guna Passenger (daily)
  • Bhubaneswar-Sambalpur Express (daily)
  • Secunderabad-Gudur Express (daily)
  • Veraval-Ahmedabad Express (daily); and
  • Udaipur-Nizamuddin Express (after guage conversion).
  • Chennai- Bangalore Shatabdi (6 days a week)

In addition to these, Lalu Prasad also proposed to run a train between Patna and Amritsar which would be added to the Akal Takht Express.

28 trains extended

The railway minister also announced extension of 28 existing trains.

These are:

  • New Delhi-Muzaffarpur Lichchavi Express to Samastipur
  • Jaisalmer/Barmer-Sarai Rohilla Express to Delhi
  • Delhi-Farrukhabad Kalindi Express to Bhiwani on one side and Kanpur on the other
  • Mysore-Thanjavur Express to Kumbakonam
  • Coimbatore-Thanjavur Express to Kumbakonam
  • Tirupati-Hyderabad Krishna Express to Nizamabad
  • Mumbai CST-Nizamabad Devgiri Express to Kacheguda
  • Trivandrum-Hapa Express to Rajkot-Veraval instead of Rajkot-Hapa
  • 874/877 Tiruchirapalli-Thanjavur Passenger to Tiruvarur; and
  • 898/899 Tiruchirapalli-Thanjavur Passenger to Tiruvarur.

Some other trains that are to be extended are:

  • Neemuch-Chittaurgarh Passenger to Udaipur
  • Allahabad-Kanpur Passenger to Farrukhabad
  • Chennai Egmore-Erode Express to Coimbatore
  • Ahmedabad-Dhanbad Parasnath Express to Asansol
  • Ahmedabad-Muzaffarpur Sabarmati Express to Darbhanga
  • Chennai-Vishakhapatnam Express to Bhubaneshwar
  • Trivandrum-New Delhi Kerala Express to Chandigarh
  • Delhi-New Jalpaiguri Sikkim Mahananda Link Express to Alipurduar
  • Kacheguda-Sri Sathya Sai Prasanthi Nilayam Express to Yesvantpur
  • Jaipur-Bangalore Express to Mysore
  • Trivandrum-Bilaspur Express to Korba
  • Howrah-Malda Town Passenger to Balurghat
  • Nizamuddin-Secunderabad AP Sampark Kranti Express to Tirupati via Kurnool
  • Nizamuddin-Bhubaneswar Hirakud Express to Visakhapatnam
  • Jaipur-Bilaspur Express to Bhubaneswar
  • Puri-Nizamuddin Kalinga Utkal Express to Haridwar
  • Delhi-Muzaffarpur Sapta Kranti Express to Darbhanga.

The minister also proposed that Sanghamitra Express between Rajendranagar, Patna and Yeshwantpur will now go to Bangalore city.

Increase in frequency for 10 trains

The frequency of some popular trains shall be increased. These include:

  • Lokmanya Tilak (T)-Gorakhpur Godan Express from tri-weekly to 4 days a week
  • Lokmanya Tilak (T) -Chhapra Godan Express from weekly to tri-weekly
  • Puri-Tirupati Service from weekly to 5 days a week
  • Chennai¬† Egmore-Trivandrum Ananthapuri¬† Express from 6 days a week to daily
  • Gorakhpur- New Delhi Gorakhdham Express from tri-weekly to daily with extension to Rohtak
  • Bhagalpur-Ranchi Vananchal Express from 4 days a week to 5 days a week
  • New Delhi-Dibrugarh Town Rajdhani Link Express from tri-weekly to daily
  • Chennai Egmore-Tenkasi Podhigai Express from weekly to bi-weekly
  • Howrah-Yesvantpur Express from bi-weekly to daily with diversion via Tirupati
  • Durg-Bhopal Amarkantak Express from 4 days a week to daily.

Railway Budget 2005-06: Complete Coverage

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Budget 2005-06: Complete Coverage

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.