News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 8 years ago  » Cricket » WT20: Mathews to lead Sri Lanka; Malinga retains his place

WT20: Mathews to lead Sri Lanka; Malinga retains his place

Source: PTI
March 08, 2016 12:20 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Agnelo Matthews

IMAGE: Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews celebrates. Photograph: BCCI.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews was replaced Lasith Malinga as captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team for the International Cricket Council World Twenty20 in India but the injury-hit pacer managed to retain his place in the side.

Sri Lanka fire cricket selectors ahead of World T20

The team was picked by the new selection committee - headed by the former skipper Aravinda de Silva which also includes Kumar Sangakkara.

Malinga was asked by the management to resign as captain after a spate of injuries which relegated him to a non-playing captain. The pacer eventually stepped down yesterday owing to slow recovery from a knee injury, which forced him to miss most of the recent Asia Cup.

Ironically, it was Malinga who was captain when Sri Lanka won the last World T20 held in Bangladesh in 2014. Fast bowler Suranga Lakmal returned to the side along with the left-handed batsman, Lahiru Thirmanna.

Both were not part of the recent Asia Cup when Sri Lanka were beaten by India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Their only win coming against associate team the UAE.

Sri Lanka squad:

Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal (Vice Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanna, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Chamara Kapugedara, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake and Lasith Malinga.

World T20: Complete Coverage

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup