» Cricket » Thakur set to become youngest BCCI President

Thakur set to become youngest BCCI President

Source: PTI
Last updated on: May 21, 2016 19:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Anurag Thakur is set to be unanimously elected as the BCCI's youngest President in the Board's Special General Meeting (SGM) in Mumbai on Sunday, replacing Shashank Manohar who quit the position to take up the ICC chief's job.

MP Anurag Thakur signs his nomination papers on Saturday

Thakur, who resigned as the Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI presidential nomination form as he completed the formalities in presence of former India captain and CAB president Sourav Ganguly in Mumbai.

Just to show solidarity, all the six east units, Cricket Association of Bengal, Assam CA, TripuraCA, NCC and Jharkhand SCA signed his nomination papers even though the rules require only one unit to nominate the name for presidential candidate.

Thakur filed his nomination in the presence of Ganguly, BCCI's GM (Game Development) Ratnakar Shetty and probable secretary Ajay Shirke.

The 41-year-old, who is also a BJP MP in Lok Sabha, will be taking over the reins of the embattled Board in rather tough times as the BCCI is facing heat from the Supreme Court to implement the Justice R M Lodha Committee's recommendations for sweeping reforms.

Manohar's exit from the top post barely seven months into his tenure has necessitated the election of the new chief of the world's richest and most powerful cricket body.

He was elected as ICC's first independent chairman on May 12.

Once Thakur is elected unopposed, it would be his prerogative to pick his replacement for the Secretary's position and Maharashtra Cricket Association chief and business magnate Shirke is all set to take that position.

The SGM will be followed by the working committee meeting of the Board.

"Agenda for the meeting is a normal one," sources said. 

Image: MP Anurag Thakur signs his nomination papers in Mumbai on Saturday

Photograph: ANI/Twitter

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2023

IPL 2023