» Cricket » Sachin, Sehwag return for Windies Test; no Harbhajan

Sachin, Sehwag return for Windies Test; no Harbhajan

Source: PTI
Last updated on: October 28, 2011 22:46 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The senior trio of Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh returned to the Indian squad, while Harbhajan Singh was ignored, for the first Test against the West Indies, at the Ferozeshah Kotla in New Delhi, beginning November 6.

Tamil Nadu off-spinner R Ashwin found a place in the 15-member squad, picked by the Krishnamachari Srikkanth-led selection committee in Kolkata on Friday, which also has four other new faces in Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Ajinkya Rahane and leg-spinner Rahul Sharma.

Tendulkar, Sehwag and Yuvraj, who missed the ODI series in England as well as the return rubber at home due to injuries, were recalled for the November 6-10 match.

R AshwinAfter his below-par performance on the tour of England, out-of-form off-spinner Harbhajan continues to be sidelined, with the selectors preferring Ashwin over him.

Right-arm pacer Ishant Sharma, who was also not a part of India's ODI squad against England due to an injury, returs to the team, to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Among those who did not find a place in the Test squad that visited England this summer are left-hand batsman-all-rpunder Suresh Raina, leg-spinner Amit Mishra and pacer Praveen Kumar.

Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who toured England for the Test series, retain his place as also young right-hand batsman Virat Kohli.

Senior batsmen Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman, who no longer play ODIs, were also named in the squad.

The squad has eight specialist batsmen, three spinners, three pacers, with Dhoni the lone wicketkeeper.

The squad: M S Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Virat Kohli, Varun Aaron, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Sharma.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

T20 World Cup 2021