» Cricket » Rohit Sharma, Pandey hit tons as India 'A' trounce Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma, Pandey hit tons as India 'A' trounce Sri Lanka

Last updated on: October 30, 2014 20:32 IST

Kuldeep Yadav of India 'A' celebrates with teammates after picking the wicket of Sri Lanka's Thisara Perera during the practice match at the Brabourne Stadium, in Mumbai. Photograph: BCCI

A fit-again Rohit Sharma and Manish Pandey slammed superb centuries as India 'A' feasted on Sri Lanka's mediocre attack before registering a comfortable 88-run victory in a warm-up match for the visitors ahead of their ODI series against India, at the Brabourne Stadium, in Mumbai, on Thursday.

Playing his first match after recovering from a fractured finger and shoulder injury, Sharma stroked a brilliant 111-ball 142 before getting run-out, while Pandey was unbeaten with 135 runs off 113 balls.

Invited to bat, India 'A' scored runs at a brisk pace, the openers - Sharma and Unmukt Chand - carting the bowlers all over the park and helping the team post 72 runs in the first 10 overs.

The home team went on to amass 382 for six. In reply, the Sri Lankans were restricted to 294 for nine.

Rohit dominated the proceedings initially, and soon Chand too upped the ante, racing past his opening partner.

The former under-19 World Cup-winning captain continued with his rich vein of form, having previously scored an unbeaten 79 and 101 against the West Indies earlier this month.

The Delhi batsman struck eight fours and a six in his 39-ball 52 before being caught behind by Kumar Sangakkara off Lahiru Gamage.

Manish Pandey (left) and Rohit Sharma punch gloves during the practice match against Sri Lanka at the Brabourne Stadium. Photograph: BCCI

Rohit, who was on 36 when Chand departed, then forged a 214-run partnership with Manish Pandey.

Playing after a two-month injury lay-off, he showed no signs of discomfort and attacked the bowlers from the start.

The 27-year-old's scintillating knock, that included some beautiful cover drives, was laced with 18 fours and a six.

He was run-out in the 41st over, falling short of his crease while trying to steal a second run. A direct hit from Lahiru Gamage dislodged the stumps.

Pandey, Karnataka's 25-year-old batsman, was, however, undeterred and notched an unbeaten 113-ball 135. His brilliant knock included 15 fours and a six, while skipper Manoj Tiwary chipped in with a cameo of 36 comprising two sixes and as many fours.

After putting up a solid display, India ‘A’ lost three quick wickets in the penultimate over but it hardly mattered as, by then, the batsmen had already dented the Lankan bowling.

The island nation opted to give a chance to all their 15 touring members and utilised the services of as many as 10 players in the bowling department.

They replaced Sangakkara after 26 overs and Kusal Perera took his place behind the stumps.

It was a bad day for the Lankan bowling outfit, but Dhammika Prasad was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 57, while Gamage bagged one.

Karan Sharma (extreme left) celebrates the fall of a wicket with teammates during the practice match against Sri Lanka at the Brabourne Stadium. Photograph: BCCI

Chasing a mammoth total, Sri Lanka suffered a jolt early when they lost opener Kusal Perera (4) in the first over. The left-handed batsman was caught behind off Dhawal Kulkarni on the last ball of the over. 

India 'A' struck again when leg spinner Karn Sharma trapped Tillakeratne Dilshan leg before off the first ball of his spell.

The 38-year old scored just 14 off 24 balls, leaving the visitors struggling at 42 for two in 8.1 overs. 

Wicketkeeper batsman Sangakkara and Tharanga tried to rebuild the innings and forged a 69-run stand for the third wicket. 

Sangakkara, one of the most experienced players in the Sri Lankan side, scored a run-a-ball 34 before being caught at first slip off Parvez Rasool. His departure left Sri Lanka struggling at 111 for three. 

Tharanga, who had partners changing at the other end quite frequently, was the only batsman who went after the Indian attack. He carted the bowlers for 13 fours before perishing at mid-wicket off Karn Sharma. 

Mahela Jayawardene scored a 31-ball 33, including three fours, before being castled by Karn, which reduced the island nation to 173 for six.

Niroshan Dickwella and Ashan Priyanjan added 51 runs for the seventh wicket before Dickwella was bowled by Kulkarni. 

The 27-year old Railways bowler scalped four wickets for 47 runs, while Jammu and Kashmir spinner Rasool and Kulkarni picked two wickets each. 


India 'A':

Rohit Sharma run-out 142

Unmukt Chand c Sangakkara b Gamage 54

Manish Pandey not out 135

Manoj Tiwary c Priyanjan b Prasad 36

Kedar Jadhav c Perera b Prasad 0

Sanju Samson c de Silva b Prasad 1

Stuart Binny c de Silva b Gamage 1

Extras: (lb 1, w 12) 13

Total: (for 6 wickets in 50 overs) 382

Fall of wickets: 1-96, 2-310, 3-373, 4-373, 5-375, 6-382

Bowling: Nuwan Kulasekara 6-0-53-0, Dhammika Prasad 6-0-57-3, Angelo Mathews 2-0-22-0, Thisara Perera 6-0-64-0, Lahiru Gamage 7-0-41-2, Seekuge Prasanna 6-0-27-0, Suraj Randiv 7-0-51-0, Chathuranga de Silva 6-0-42-0, Tillakaratne Dilshan 3-0-19-0, Ashan Priyanjan 1-0-5-0.

Sri Lanka:

Kusal Perera c Samson b Kulkarni 4

Upul Tharanga c Chand b Karn Sharma 76

T Dilshan lbw Karn Sharma 14

Kumar Sangakkara c Chand b Rasool 34

Mahela Jayawardene b Karn Sharma 33

Angelo Mathews c Karun Nair b Karn Sharma 3

Ashan Priyanjan c Karn Sharma b Rasool 23

Niroshan Dickwella b Kulkarni 29

Thisara Perera c Rohit Sharma b Yadav 13

Seekuge Prasanna not out 21

Chathuranga de Silva not out 26

Extras: (w 7, b 6, lb 5) 18                                  

Total: (for 9 wickets in 50 overs) 294

Bowling: Dhawal Kulkarni 7-0-41-2, Stuart Binny 7-0-40-0, Karn Sharma 10-2-47-4, Parveez Rasool 10-0-56-2, Manish Pandey 2-0-12-0, Kuldeep Yadav 10-0-48-1, Manoj Tiwary 2-0-23-0, Kedar Jadhav 2-0-16-0.