» Cricket » Rohit 14th Indian to hit ton on Test debut. Check out the others

Rohit 14th Indian to hit ton on Test debut. Check out the others

Last updated on: November 07, 2013 16:21 IST

Rohit SharmaRohit Sharma made a sensational start to his Test career, hitting a century on debut, in the first Test against the West Indies, at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, on Thursday.

- PHOTOS: India vs WI, 1st Test, Day 2

The Mumbai batsman continued his recent run of good form, bringing up his hundred off 194 balls.

He edged left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell between the slips for a boundary attain the feat and lift India after the loss of a cluster of wickets in the morning session.

- Scorecard

He becomes the 14th Indian batsman to hit a century on Test debut, following in the footsteps of his teammate Shikhar Dhawan, the last Indian to perform the feat when he hammered 187 against Australia, in Mohali earlier this year.

Dhawan's 187 is the highest score by an Indian in his first Test.

Lala Amarnath was the first Indian to score to century on Test debut, when he made 118 against England in Mumbai nearly 80 years ago, in 1933.

Interestingly, his son Surinder also accomplished the feat when he scored 124 against New Zealand in Auckland, in 1976.

Deepak Shodhan in 1952 (vs Pakistan) and Mohammad Azharuddin in 1984 (vs England) are the other two Indian batsmen to achieved the landmark at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Check out the Indians who scored a century on Test debut:

Player Score Against Venue Year
Lala Amarnath 118 England Mumbai 1933
Deepak Shodhan 110 Pakistan Kolkata 1952
AG Kripal Singh 100* New Zealand Hyderabad 1955
Abbas Ali Baig 112 England Manchester 1959
Hanumant Singh 105 England Delhi 1964
Gundappa Viswanath 137 Australia Kanpur 1969
Surinder Amarnath 124 New Zealand Auckland 1976
Mohd Azharuddin 110 England Kolkata 1984
Pravin Amre 103 South Africa Durban 1992
Sourav Ganguly 131 England Lord's 1996
Virender Sehwag 105 South Africa Bloemfontein 2001
Suresh Raina 120 Sri Lanka Colombo (SSC) 2010
Shikhar Dhawan 187 Australia Mohali 2013
Rohit Sharma 127* West Indies Kolkata 2013