NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Bihar take first innings lead

Bihar take first innings lead

December 26, 2003 22:04 IST

Bihar take first innings lead

Bihar took a vital first innings lead scoring 211 losing seven wickets against Tripura's 187 all out on the second day of the four-day Ranji Trophy Plate 'B' cricket match at the Keenan stadium at Jamshedpur on Friday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 180 for nine, Tripura lost their last wicket when S Sharma was caught by Rajiv Kumar off Diwakar adding only four runs to his individual score of ten.

Bihar lost opener K Ghosh caught and bowled by Sonu Sharma when the total was 39. Thereafter, Bihar lost two quick wickets at 50 and at 52.

However, Mohit Goyal (56) and Rajiv Kumar (batting 70) took the side to a healthy position with a valuable 90 runs partnership for the fourth wicket.

Goyal (56) returned to the pavilion caught by Jayswal off Mahesh.

 At close, Rajiv Kumar and Shahid Khan (1) were at the crease.

Ashish Kapoor was the most successful bowler for Tripura taking four wickets giving 84 runs in 30 overs. While Sonu Sharma claimed two, Mahesh took one wicket.

Services reach 242 for six

Services put up a better batting performance to reach 242 for six against Orissa on the truncated second day of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group 'B' cricket match at New Delhi on Friday.

Resuming at overnight score of 134 for five, Sanjeev Verma (35) and C T Thomas (53 not out) put up 56 runs for the sixth wicket before the former was caught and bowled by Sanjay Raul.

But that was the only success for the visitors as A K Mohanty (36 not out) built up an 72-run unfinished partnership with Thomas before the play was called off 18 minutes after tea due to bad weather.

Earlier, a thick fog and bad light forced the umpires to delay the start of play for about two hours. Only 114 overs, from the possible 180, have been bowled in the first two days of the match.


Services (First Innings):
 PMS Reddy lbw b Mohanty             2
 A Singh lbw b Satpathy                   26
 K Chauda lbw b Mangraj                36
 J Singh c Sukhwinder b Jena           34
 S Verma c & b Raul                       35
 Jasbeer Singh c Mohanty b Jena      3
 C D Thomas not out                        53
 A Mohanty not out                          36

Extras (b-8, lb-4, nb-3, w-2)      17

Total (for six wkts, 114 overs)   242

Fall of wickets: 1/2, 2/65, 3/69, 4/110, 5/118, 6/174

Bowling: D Mohanty 27-7-59-1, Deepak Mangraj 22-7-40-1, S Jena 28-8-48-2 S Satpathy 18-3-47-1, P Mullick 10-4-18-0, S Raul 9-3-18-1.

Goa batsmen dominate

Opener Vivek Kolambkar (109) and Mandar Phadke (108) cracked unbeaten centuries as Goa consolidated their position reaching 290 for 3 in the first innings against Saurashtra on the second day of the Plate 'B' Ranji Trophy league match at the Rajendra Prasad ground at Margao on Friday.

With this effort, the hosts, who bowled out the visitors for 220 yesterday, took a vital 70-run first innings lead.

Kolambkar and Phadke's tons were the highlight of  the day's play after Goa lost the wickets of Swapnil Asnodkar (13), Advait Katkar (42) and Robin D'Souza (10) before lunch.

Phadke was more aggressive of the two though he was also a bit lucky as he was dropped by Niraj when on 97 off Sitanshu Kotak. Mandar hit two sixes and 12 fours during his 155-minute stay at the crease.

Kolambkar, who batted all day long, played the sheet anchor's role to perfection and batted for 364 minutes hitting 12 shots to the fence.

Sitanshu Kotak was the most successful bowler for Saurashtra taking two wickets while Sandip Maniyar claimed one wicket.


Saurashtra Ist Innings: 220

Goa Ist Innings:
 Vivek Kolambkar not out                       109
 S Asnodkar c Ashok b Maniyar               13
 Adavit Katkar c Ashok b Kotak              42
 Robin D'Souza lbw Kotak                       10
 Mandar Phadke not out                       108

Extras  (b-3, lb-2, nb-3)                     8

Total  (For 3 wickets in 91 overs)        290

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-105, 3-119.

Bowling: Pintoo Gosai 15-5-33-0, Sandip Maniyar 16-3-54-1, Kanaiya Vaghela 3-1-3-0, Rakesh Dhruv 8-1-27-0, Nayan Doshi 18-4-67-0, Niraj Odedra 12-3-31-0, Sitanshu Kotak 10-1-44-2, Jaydev Shah 9-2-26-0.

MP reach 387 for 8 against J & K

Madhya Pradesh reached 387 for eight against Jammu and Kashmir on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group 'A' Plate division cricket match at Jammu on Friday.

Resuming at 135 for three, the visitors lost Abbas Ali who made 14.

Overnight batsman Devendra Bundela (89) played extremely well as the hosts came up with some good bowling performances led by Sameer Khajuria, who returned with figures of four for 93.

At stumps on the second day, Harvinder Singh Sodi and Yogesh Golwalker were batting on 35 and nine respectively.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.