» Cricket » Delhi announce new look team

Delhi announce new look team

Source: PTI
Last updated on: December 21, 2003 18:30 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Four senior players including captain Mithun Manhas would miss Delhi's final Elite group Ranji Trophy match against Andhra after they were picked to play for India in the Asian 'A' team's cricket tournament, starting in Kolkata on Monday.

Former captain and glovesman Vijay Dahiya would lead the Delhi side in the absence of Manhas, the senior selection committee of the Delhi and District Cricket Association announced at New Delhi.

The other Delhi players to miss the side include opening batsman Gautam Gambhir, off-spinner Sarandeep Singh and pacer Amit Bhandari.

The DDCA announced a 15-member team for the match which include several new faces.

Delhi, currently sitting on six points, need to win the match against Andhra with maximum points to have some chance of join Mumbai in the semifinals from the group.

Delhi, who were last year's semifinalists, are yet to register a win in six matches so far this season and their six points came by the virtue of first innings lead against Uttar Pradesh, Baroda and Kerala.

They failed to garner any point from the match against Punjab, which ended in a draw, and lost to Mumbai and Railways.

Delhi team:
Vijay Dahiya (capt), Rajat Bhatia, Salil Oberoi, Ajay Jadeja, Varun Kumar, Saket Bhatia, Rajan Gupta, Vivek Khurana, Harender Chaudhary, Vishal Sharma, Sanjay Gill, N S Negi, Abhishek Sharma, Kunal Lal, Kuldeep Rawat.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020