NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Ponting dominates ICC awards nominations

Ponting dominates ICC awards nominations

Last updated on: August 28, 2007 19:18 IST

Australia's Ricky Ponting and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene lead the nominations for this year's International Cricket Council (ICC) annual awards, figuring in as many as four individual categories.

The 32-year-old Ponting, who led Australia to an unprecedented hat-trick of World Cup titles in West Indies in April, is in the race to retain both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards.

He has also been nominated for ODI Player of the Year and Captain of the Year awards as per the preliminary list released by ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed at a news conference on Tuesday.

Jayawardene, who led his country to the World Cup final this year, has also been nominated in the above four categories.

The Sri Lanka skipper, chosen Captain of the Year last year, is the only other contender for the honour besides Ponting.

The shortlist was made by a five-man selection panel headed by former India captain Sunil Gavaskar for the one-year period starting from August 9, 2006.

The awards function will be held in Johannesburg on September 10, a day before the start of the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup.

Eight players are in the race for three awards each.

The batting trio of England's Kevin Pietersen, Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf and West Indies Shivnarine Chanderpaul as well as Sri Lanka off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan and South Africa all-rounder Shaun Pollock are also contenders in the above three categories.

Australian Simon Taufel is in line for the Umpire of the Year accolade for the fourth straight year.

Australian pacemen Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson are among seven who have been nominated for the Emerging Player award while 13 are in the race for the Women's Player of the Year award.

 The ICC has also introduced an award for ODI Player of the Year from among Associate member countries.

List of Nominees – Individual Awards (each category to be reduced to a shortlist on or around 4 September)

Test Player:
Mohammad Asif (Pak)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Stuart Clark (Aus)
Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Zaheer Khan (Ind)
Anil Kumble (Ind)
Brian Lara (WI)
Glenn McGrath (Aus)
Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
Makhaya Ntini (SA)
Monty Panesar (Eng)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Shaun Pollock (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Ryan Sidebottom (Eng)
Shane Warne (Aus)
Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)

ODI Player:
Shane Bond (NZ)
Mark Boucher (SA)
Nathan Bracken (Aus)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Stuart Clark (Aus)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Brett Lee (Aus)
Glenn McGrath (Aus)
Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
Jacob Oram (NZ)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Shaun Pollock (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Yuvraj Singh (Ind)
Mohammed Yousuf (Pak)

Emerging Player:
Ravinder Bopara (Eng)
Shakib Al Hasan (Bang)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Mushfiqur Rahim (Bang)
Shaun Tait (Aus)
Ross Taylor (NZ)
Chris Tremlett (Eng)

Cricketer of the Year:
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Glenn McGrath (Aus)
Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Shaun Pollock (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Mohammed Yousuf (Pak)

Captain of the Year:
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Associate ODI Player of the Year:
Ashish Bagai (Can)
Andre Botha (Ire)
John Davison (Can)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Dwayne Leverock (Ber)
Kyle McCallan (Ire)
Tanmay Mishra (Ken)
Eoin Morgan (Ire)
Ashif Mulla (Can)
Niall O'Brien (Ire)
Thomas Odoyo (Ken)
Peter Ongondo (Ken)
Irving Romaine (Ber)
Abdool Samad (Can)
Ryan Ten Doeschate (Neth)
Steve Tikolo (Ken)
Hiren Varaiya (Ken)
Ryan Watson (Sco)

Umpire of the Year:
Mark Benson
Steve Bucknor
Daryl Harper
Simon Taufel

Women's Cricketer of the Year:
Caitriona Beggs (Ire)
Holly Colvin (Eng)
Rumeli Dhar (Ind)
Maria Fahey (NZ)
Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Ashlyn Kilowan (SA)
Johmari Logtenberg (SA)
Urooj Mumtaz Khan (Pak)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Rebecca Rolls (NZ)
Sajida Shah (Pak)
Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)
Claire Taylor (Eng)

© Copyright 2019 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.