News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 9 years ago  » Cricket » Play selector! Pick India's 15 for the ICC World Cup

Play selector! Pick India's 15 for the ICC World Cup

December 08, 2014 09:00 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Team India

Mahendra Singh Dhoni gets into a huddle with his players. Photograph: Getty Images

Several senior players of the triumphant squad of 2011 were missing from India's 30-man list of probables for the 2015 World Cup.

- The 11 World Cup winners India will miss in 2015

Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Gautam Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh, who were part of the victorious campaign at home, failed to make the cut as youngsters, like Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Parveez Rasool, Manish Pandey, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav and Sanju Samson, were give preference following a good showing in the domestic circuit.

The list will be further pruned to 15 on or before January 7, five weeks before the mega event in Australia and New Zealand kicks-off on February 14.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Suresh Raina are automatic picks, while among the bowlers, pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, along with the spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja should get the nod.

Before the selectors meet again to finalise the squad, you can take on their role and pick 15 players from the 30-member list you feel are best to represent the country at the World Cup.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup