» Cricket » Stats: India vs NZ, Nagpur Test (Day 3)

Stats: India vs NZ, Nagpur Test (Day 3)

Source: PTI
November 22, 2010 22:04 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Statistical highlights at the end of third day's play in the third and final cricket Test between India and New Zealand at Nagpur on Monday.

# A first innings lead of 373 -- the highest conceded by New Zealand to India, surpassing the 328 in the 1955-56 Chennai Test. 

# India (566/8 wickets declared) have recorded their second highest total against New Zealand -- their highest is 583 for seven wickets declared at Ahmedabad in 1999-00. 

# India's aforesaid score is the highest at Jamtha, outstripping South Africa's 558 for six wickets declared in February 2010. 

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni has recorded his highest innings against New Zealand, eclipsing the 56 not out at Wellington in April 2009. 

# Dhoni has been dismissed in the nervous nineties for the third time in Tests -- the first two instances were -- 92 against England at The Oval in 2007 and 92 against Australia at Mohali in 2008-09. 

# Dhoni has become the third Indian captain to register two innings in the nervous nineties - the first two being Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly. 

# Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar were associated in a 104-run stand for the third wicket -- a record for India for this wicket-position at this venue. 

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni (98 off 156 balls) has registered his highest innings at Jamtha -- his third half-century. 

# Dravid and Dhoni were involved in a 193-run partnership, equalling a record for India for the sixth wicket against New Zealand. Dilip Sardesai and Hanumant Singh were associated in a 193-run unbroken stand at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai in 1964-65. 

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the top run-scorer in Tests as captain-cum-wicketkeeper, amassing 1324 at an averge of 52.96 in 29 innings.  His run-aggregate includes three hundreds and 10 fifties. 

# Andy Flower had made 1232 at an average of 49.28, including three centuries and seven fifties, in 30 innings as captain-cum-wicketkeeper.

# Daniel Vettori has delivered 50 overs or more in an innings 18 times.

# Vettori (58-7-178-3), for the third time in a Test innings,  has conceded 175 or more in an innings. Only once he has conceded 200 runs in an innings - 57-5-200-4 against India at Ahmedabad in 1999-2000.

# Rahul Dravid (191 off 396 balls) has posted his sixth hundred against New Zealand -- his 31st century -- a record in India-New Zealand Tests.

# Daniel Vettori's tally of 14 wickets at an average of 36.57 in three Tests is his best in a Test series against India, surpassing his previous best tally -- 12 (ave. 45.25) in three Tests in 1999-00.

# Harbhajan Singh is now the first number eight player to aggregate 300 runs in a Test rubber, amassing 315 at an average of 105.00, including two centuries and one fifty.

# Dravid's tally of six centuries versus New Zealand is bettered only by Pakistan's Javed Miandad (seven). 

# Dravid's run-aggregate of 1659 in 15 Tests at an average of 63.80 against New Zealand has been bettered by Javed Miandad in Test cricket -- 1919 at an averge of 79.95. 

# Sachin has recorded his best tally in a calendar year, totalling 1396 (ave.82.11), including six hundreds and five fifties, in 12 Tests.  His previous highest run-aggregate in a calendar year was --  1392 runs in 16 Tests at an average of 55.68, including four hundreds and five fifties.

# Andy McKay has become the eleventh bowler to bag Sachin Tendulkar's wicket as his first -- a record in Tests. 

# Dravid's run-aggregate of 1659 (ave.63.80), including six hundreds and six fifties, in 15 Tests is a record in India-New Zealand Tests. 

# Just six players have recorded more centuries than Dravid - Sachin Tendulkar (49), Ricky Ponting (39), Jacques Kallis (37), Sunil Gavaskar (34), Brian Lara (34) and Steve Waugh (32).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020