NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » North Zone in cruise control in Duleep Trophy

North Zone in cruise control in Duleep Trophy

October 07, 2012 19:39 IST

Paras Dogra struck a strokeful half century as North Zone piled on a big total of 484 in their first innings to place themselves in a commanding position on the second day of the four-day Duleep Trophy quarter-final match against West Zone in Chennai on Sunday.

Dogra's 77 pushed North's overnight score of 251 for three to 484 all out in 174.4 overs shortly before close. He hit 10 fours and a six from the 147 balls he faced at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

An early wicket -- in the form of Ajinkya Rahane off paceman Ishant Sharma for a first-ball duck -- put West Zone in the back foot.

West Zone were six runs for one in one over at stumps on the second day with Kastubh Pawar (4) and Murtuja Vahora (0) at the crease.

Three other North batsmen made valuable contributions with Amit Mishra (48), Rishi Dhawan (38) and Nitin Saini (37) chipping in.

For West, off-spinner Kamlesh Makwana made a five-wicket haul for 147 runs.

After wicketkeeper batsman Nitin Saini left at his overnight score of 37, it was Himachal batsman Dogra and Mayank Sidhana who took charge, adding 48 runs between them in 17.5 overs for the fifth wicket.

Mayank too made his exit for 20 runs when he was caught by Kamlesh Makwana of Samad Fallah.

However, Dogra was in aggressive mood and he consolidated the North innings with Rishi Dhawan. The duo batted for over 24 overs before the latter paid the price for trying an ambitious shot off Harmeet Singh and was caught by Ajinkya Rahane for 38.

Dogra and Rishi Dhawan put on 88 for sixth wicket in 4.1 overs, which remained the high point of batting for the day.

Next batsman Amit Mishra started off shakily being dropped by Samad Fallah when he was on two off the bowling of Makwana. Dogra too left the scene soon after being adjudged LBW to Makwana and the North were 399 for seven then.

The North tail wagged with Mishra hitting a 94-ball 48 which included two fours and as many sixes. Vikas Mishra (6 not out) and Parvinder Awana (23) added 30 runs in 9.2 overs to take North to a big total.

North Zone (First Innings)
Rahul Dewan c Ajinkya Rahane b Kamlesh Makwana 65
Shikhar Dhawan st Parthiv Patel b Kamlesh Makwana 101
Sunny Singh c Parthiv Patel b Samad Fallah 46
Nitin Saini  lbw  b  Vahora 37
M Sidhana c Makwana b Samad Fallah 20
Paras Dogra lbw b Makwana 77
Rishi Dhawan  c A Rahane  b Harmeet Singh 38
Amit Mishra lbw b Makwana 48
Ishant Sharma lbw b Makwana  8
Vikas Mishra not out  6
P Awana b Harmeet Singh 23
Extras  (b-5, lb-5, nb-5) 15
Total (all out in 174.4 overs) 484
Fall of Wickets: 1-164, 2-175, 3-251, 4-251, 5-299, 6-387, 7-399, 8-446, 9-454.
Bowling: Samad Fallah 30-11-59-2, Murtuja Vahora 24-8-53-1, Harmeet Singh 44.4-5-147-2, Abhishek Nayar 22-7-51-0, Kamlesh Makwana 47-7-140-5, Kaustubh Pawar 3-0-11-0, Kedhar Jadhav 4-0-13-0.

West Zone (First Innings):
Kaustubh Pawar  batting  4
Ajinkya Rahane  c Nitin Saini  b  Ishant Sharma  0
Murtuja Vahora  batting  0
Extras (b-1, lb-1) 2
Total: (for one wicket in 3 overs)  6
Fall of wickets: 1-5
Bowling: Ishant Sharma 2-1-4-1, Parvinder Awana 1-1-0-0.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.