» Cricket » Cricket Buzz: Kapil tenders resignation from 'non existent' CAC

Cricket Buzz: Kapil tenders resignation from 'non existent' CAC

Last updated on: October 02, 2019 18:40 IST

Kapil Dev

IMAGE: The Cricket Advisory Committee comprising Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad and Shantha Rangaswamy. Photograph: Harish Kotian/

Kapil Dev has tendered his resignation from the three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) in the wake of Conflict of Interest notice served by Ethics Officer DK Jain but the former India captain didn't need to put in his papers for a "non-existent committee".


CoA chief Vinod Rai has made it clear that the CAC comprising Kapil, former women's captain Shantha Rangaswamy and Anshuman Gaekwad were 'not conflicted' as per their understanding and it was appointed for only selecting the head coach.

The trio was issued notice by Jain on complaint of Madhya Pradesh CA life-member Sanjeev Gupta, who had complained that they were part of CAC despite being directors of players' association.

While Rangaswamy had also resigned from the committee, the third member Gaekwad said that he is ready to resign if the 'committee still exists'.

"As far as I am concerned, our ad-hoc committee was appointed only for a particular day where we had to select the head coach. I think it's non-existent but if it exists, I will also resign if conflict question comes up," the former India opener said on Wednesday.

Rai had earlier told that 'CAC didn't exist anymore as it is a one-time committee'.

CoA issues General Body Meeting notice, asks 'compliant' members to attend

The Committee of Administrators (CoA) officially called for BCCI's General Body Meeting on October 23 but made it clear that only 'compliant' members will be allowed to attend.

The CoA issued a notice to all members as it is required to do so 21 days before the meeting. The election date has already been announced.

The CoA sent across the agenda, which included election of five office bearers and one Councilor of the BCCI.

Adoption of audited accounts for the years 2016-17, 2017-18 and ratification of the appointment of Statutory Auditors for the financial years 2017-18 and 2018-2019 are also part of the agenda.
However, the notice comes with a caveat.

"Please note that only complaint members of the BCCI as determined by the CoA in accordance with the Supreme Court judgement dated 9th August 2018 read with the Supreme Court order dated 20th September 2019, shall be permitted to participate in the General Body Meeting," the notice mentioned.

It clearly was a message to Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA), which recently conducted its elections but the CoA found that the state body was not compliant with BCCI's amended Constitution.

Kakatkar elected as Maharashtra cricket association president

Vikas Kakatkar was elected as president of the Maharashtra Cricket Association in Pune.

Riyaz Bagban was re-elected as secretary, the MCA said in a release.

Elections for the period from 2019-2022 were conducted by electoral officer J S Saharia, former state election commissioner, the association said.

Other elected office-bearers are Ajay Gupte (vice president), Rahul Dholepatil (joint scretary) and Shubhendra Bhandarkar (treasurer).

Bagban was unanimously nominated as representative of the MCA for the BCCI polls, the release added. 

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.