» Cricket » BCCI commission to probe CSK, RR management

BCCI commission to probe CSK, RR management

Source: PTI
May 31, 2013 15:05 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The three-member inquiry commission set up by the BCCI, to probe into the spot-fixing and betting charges during IPL 6, will now look into the roles of Gurunath Meiyappan and owners of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) franchises.

"In addition to looking into the complaints of Meiyappan, we will also look into the complaints against India Cements Limited and Jaipur Private Limited, which own Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) franchises," Justice (retired) Jayaram Chouta, one of the panel members, said on Friday.

Sanjay JagdaleAsked about the focus area of the probe, Justice Chouta said it depended upon the complaint which the panel has not received so far.

"Once the chairman of the panel is nominated there will be correspondence between him and BCCI. The cricket body then will send (a copy of the) complaint to the chairman," he said.

Justice Chouta set no timeframe for the completion of the inquiry. He also added that the commission will not ask beleaguered BCCI president N Srinivasan to step down.

"We cannot tell him to relinquish his post. It has been left to him. The Commission cannot tell him to step down," he said.

Justice Chouta once again ruled out any interference from the BCCI chief and said nobody can influence his probe.

The BCCI had, on Tuesday, constituted a three-member inquiry commission including two retired High Court judges to go into allegations against Meiyappan, son-in-law of Srinivasan, who has been arrested on charges of betting in the recently-concluded Indian Premier League matches. Justice Chouta, Justice R Balasubramanian, former Judge of the Madras High Court, and BCCI Secretary Sanjay Jagdale are members of the commission, which will also go into the allegations against three players of the Rajasthan Royals team and its franchise, as well as the Chennai Super Kings, of which Meiyappan was the Team Principal.

Image: BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale

Photograph: Getty Images


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021