News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 8 years ago  » Cricket » IPL Opening Ceremony PIX: Katrina, Jacqueline, Bravo set the stage on fire!

IPL Opening Ceremony PIX: Katrina, Jacqueline, Bravo set the stage on fire!

April 08, 2016 22:38 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Katrina Kaif

IMAGE: Katrina Kaif performs during the opening night of the Indian Premier League held at The Dome in Mumbai, on Saturday. Photograph: BCCI.

A glamour-filled opening ceremony, featuring Bollywood personalities performed for the Season 9 of the Indian Premier League, in Mumbai, on Friday.

Jacqueline Fernandez

IMAGE: Jacqueline Fernandez enjoyed on the stage. Photograph: BCCI.

Tinsel Town's top stars like Jacqueline Fernandez, Yo Yo Honey Singh, Katrina Kaif, Ranveer Singh and many added litter to the ceremony.

Dwayne Bravo

IMAGE: All Stars! From left, Yo yo Honey Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez, DJ Bravo, Katrina Kaif and Ranveer Singh perform during the opening ceremony. Photograph: Twitter.

West Indies’s Dwayne Bravo performed his famous ‘Champion’. He made sure that the Bollywood stars also got the dance move right.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Dwayne Bravo will usher in a life that goes beyond the bright canary yellow when Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions make their Indian Premier League debuts with nothing much to lose in a shelf life of two years.

Yoyo Honey Singh

IMAGE: Yo yo Honey Singh got the crowd into the act. Photograph: BCCI.

With 59 matches spread across 10 cities, the cash-rich league starting Saturday will unearth new domestic talents apart from giving some of the tried and tested faces a shot at redemption during the next seven weeks of what is again expected to be a perfect marriage of cricket and entertainment.

MS Dhoni

IMAGE: The eight IPL captains grace the stage with the IPL trophy. Photograph: BCCI.

While Dhoni is a seasoned captain in shortest format, India's Test skipper Virat Kohli, with his staggering new-found success in T20 internationals, will hope that the form translates for his IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore in the company of Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers.

For the high-profile defending champions Mumbai Indians, the squad looks familiar from last season with the calm Rohit Sharma in charge and, in fact, has been bolstered by addition of dashing Englishman Jos Buttler.

Delhi Daredevils will hope that new superstar of 'Kingdom T20' Carlos Brathwaite brings in his new-found exuberance under Rahul Dravid's 'Mentorship' and Zaheer Khan's leadership.

The Shah Rukh Khan co-owned Kolkata Knight Riders will have the vocal crowd support at Eden Gardens.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have the firepower in batting with David Warner upfront and have the experience of Ashish Nehra to guide Bangladesh's 'cutter master' Mustafizur Rahaman.

Kings XI Punjab have David Miller and Glenn Maxwell to shore up the batting but, sans Mitchell Johnson, lack the firepower in the bowling department.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Paris Olympics 2024

Paris Olympics 2024