» Cricket » Yuvraj to lead Pune Warriors in IPL 4

Yuvraj to lead Pune Warriors in IPL 4

Last updated on: March 08, 2011 17:44 IST

India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh will lead Pune Warriors in the fourth season of the Indian Premier League, starting April 8.

The new franchise in the hugely successful league also announced its 30-member squad on Tuesday. It includes, among others, Graeme Smith, Nathan McCullum, Wayne Parnell, Tim Paine, Jesse Ryder and Agnelo Mathews.

- Gambhir named KKR captain

Besides Yuvraj, Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa and Murali Karthik are the other capped players from India.

Callum Ferguson, Mitchelle Marsh, Jerome Taylor and Alfonso Thomas are also part of the squad.

"Sahara's Pune Warriors squad has been constituted with an intention to strike a balance between experience, exuberance, international expertise and promising talent of present and future. We are confident of making a mark on the league," said Abhijit Sarkar, Sahara's head of Corporate Communications.

"The enviable support and guidance from chief coach Geoff Marsh and assistant coaches Dermot Reeve and Praveen Amre together leverage their vast and complementing experience in international cricket to make the team a force to reckon with," he added.

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Harshad Khadiwale, Imtiyaz Ahmad, Kamran Khan, Manish Pandey, Mithun Minhas, Mohnish Mishra, Rahul Sharma, Sachin Rana, Shreekant Wagh and Shrikant Mundhe complete the young brigade.

Team Composition:


Yuvraj Singh

Ashish Nehra

Robin Uthappa

Murali Kartik


Graeme Smith

Angelo Mathews

Tim Paine

Nathan McCullum

Callum Ferguson

Wayne Parnell

Mitchell Marsh

Jesse Ryder

Jerome Taylor

Alfonso Thomas


Manish Pandey

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala

Mohnish Mishra

Kamran Khan

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Rahul Sharma

Shreekant Wagh

Ganesh Gaikwad

Harshad Khadiwale

Shrikant Mundhe

Sachin Rana

Harpreet Singh

Dheeraj Jadhav

Imtiyaz Ahmad

Mithun Minhas

Eklavya Dwivedi