NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » England rest Ashes stars for Australia ODIs, Morgan named captain

England rest Ashes stars for Australia ODIs, Morgan named captain

August 27, 2013 16:36 IST

Eoin MorganEngland have rested Alastair Cook, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann for the five-match One-Day International series against Australia next month.

Eoin Morgan will captain the side in Cook's absence, while pace bowlers Chris Jordan and Jamie Overton are included in an England squad for the first time.

- England is a force to be reckoned with, asserts Cook

Michael Carberry, Gary Ballance and Boyd Rankin, who are yet to make their ODI debuts for England, have also been selected.

"Following a very intense period of cricket this summer we have decided to rest a number of senior players which will allow them to recover from a heavy workload over the last three months and to prepare for the tour of Australia which begins in eight weeks," national selector Geoff Miller said in a statement.

England have named a separate squad for a one-off ODI against Ireland on September 3, for which Kevin Pietersen, Joe Root and Jonathan Trott will also be rested before returning for the Australia matches.

They have been replaced by Ballance, James Taylor and Danny Briggs.

- PHOTOS: England's cricketers party with fans after Ashes win

The first ODI against Australia is at Headingley on September 6.

Squad for Ireland match: Eoin Morgan (captain), Gary Ballance, Ravi Bopara, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Jamie Overton, Boyd Rankin, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Luke Wright.

Squad for Australia matches: Eoin Morgan (captain), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Jamie Overton, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright.

Schdule (England vs Australia limited overs series):

Aug 29 First T20I (D/N) Southampton 2300 IST
Aug 31 Second T20I Chester-le-Street 1900 IST
Sep 6 First ODI Leeds 1445 IST
Sep 8 Second ODI Manchester 1445 IST
Sep 11 Third ODI (D/N) Birmingham 1830 IST
Sep 14 Fourth ODI Cardiff 1445 IST
Sep 16 Fifth ODI (D/N) Southampton 1830 IST

Image: Eoin Morgan

Photograph: Philip Brown/Reuters

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.