» Cricket » Check out India's tour of Australia schedule

Check out India's tour of Australia schedule

Last updated on: May 28, 2020 18:24 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

IMAGE: India will play four Tests along with three ODIs and as many T20Is during their tour of Australia later this year. Photograph: BCCI

Australia will host India at their Gabba stronghold in the opening match of the four-Test series and Adelaide will stage the pink ball day-night Test, but Perth has missed out on a match in the lucrative tour.


Western Australia (WA) had hoped to host Virat Kohli's India at the state's Perth Stadium but were defeated by Queensland's bid for a match at the Gabba, where Australia have not lost a Test in over 30 years.

WA will instead kick off the home summer with a one-off day-night Test against Afghanistan on November 21, Cricket Australia confirmed on Thursday, a consolation prize that the Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) are less than thrilled about.

WACA boss Christina Matthews is "astounded" that the two-year-old Perth Stadium had been overlooked for India in favour of Brisbane's Gabba, the most dated of Australia's major stadiums, and said it could cost the WACA up to A$4 million (2.16 million pounds) in lost membership fees.

"All the metrics associated with cricket over the last two years see us surpass Brisbane in every area, whether that's crowds, broadcast ratings, even better rainfall at that time of year, more corporate seats ... and a brand new stadium," Matthews told reporters in Perth on Thursday.

Perth Stadium was given a match in the last home series against India in 2018/19, with the Gabba missing out.

Australia, depleted by the ball-tampering suspensions to David Warner and Steve Smith, won the Perth match but lost the series 2-1.

Adelaide Oval will host the first day-night Test between India and Australia from December 11 at. India declined the offer of a pink ball Test in 2018/19.

Melbourne and Sydney retain the traditional Boxing Day and New Year Tests respectively.

All cricket was suspended in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic and international travel restrictions remain but BCCI have said their team would be willing to tour Australia and comply with strict bio-security measures to make it happen.

Schedule: India's tour of Australia:

Date Match Venue
Oct 11 First T20I Brisbane
Oct 14 Second T20I Canberra
Oct 17 Third T20I Adelaide
Dec 3-7 First Test Brisbane
Dec 11-15 Second Test (D/N)
Dec 26-30 Third Test Melbourne
Jan 3-7 Fourth Test Sydney
Jan 12 First ODI Perth
Jan 15 Second ODI Melbourne
Jan 17 Third ODI Sydney
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: source
© Copyright 2020 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.