» Cricket » Bumrah ruled out of second Test at Lord's

Bumrah ruled out of second Test at Lord's

Source: PTI
Last updated on: August 08, 2018 11:20 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Jasprit Bumrah

IMAGE: Jasprit Bumrah. Photograph: BCCI

India will not be able to avail the services of Jasprit Bumrah for the second Test against England as he is yet to recover from a left hand fracture sustained during a T20 International against Ireland in June.


While the Board of Control for Cricket in India had stated in an earlier media release that Bumrah will be available for selection from the second Test subject to fitness, it is now confirmed that the recovery has been slower than expected and he is now out of contention from the Lord's Test.

"He (Burmrah) is bowling fit right now but it's too early to put him into a game-like situation. The plaster on his hand needs to come off first. He is out of contention for the second Test," bowling coach Bharat Arun confirmed at a media conference on Tuesday.

Bumrah has been bowling at the nets but it has been found that he is still taking catches with soft ball.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020