» Cricket » Vengsarkar to head selection committee

Vengsarkar to head selection committee

By Harish Kotian in Mumbai
Last updated on: September 27, 2006 20:38 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday named former captain Dilip Vengsarkar chairman of the national selection committee. The decision was taken at the 77th Annual General Meeting, at the Cricket Club of India, in Mumbai on Wednesday

Vengsarkar replaces Kiran More, who completed a four-year term.

Former India spinner Venkatpathy Raju also found a place in the five-man panel. He takes the place of V B Chandrashekhar, the South Zone representative.

Bhupinder Singh Senior (North Zone), Ranjib Biswal (East) and Sanjay Jagdale (Central) retained their seats in the committee.

"Sharad Pawar has been unanimously elected as the president of the BCCI. Also elected unanimously are the following office-bearers: Niranjan Shah as the honorary secretary, M P Pandove as the honorary joint-secretary and N Srinivasan as the honorary treasurer," Srinivasan told reporters in Mumbai on Wednesday.

"There was no objection from any of the members. Also all the objections by the Cricket Association were withdrawn," Srinivasan added.

In another big development, Ratnakar Shetty was appointed Administrative Head of the BCCI. Shetty, who was formerly executive secretary in-charge, will assist the office-bearers.

Former captain Kapil Dev was appointed as chairman of the National Cricket Academy. He replaces Sunil Gavaskar.

The BCCI also said it will not the sign the International Cricket Council's Members Participation Agreement (MPA) in its present form.

"The members decided that in its present form the MPA can't be signed by the Board. There were many areas that the BCCI decided that needed changes. We have reservations about certain clauses pertaining to players' endorsements and marketing. We have formed a committee to look into these and suggest acceptable parameters," Srinivasan said.

The Board also announced that its new headquarters, being built at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, would be inaugurated on November 4.

"The C K Nayudu awards would also be held on the same day," Srinivasan said.

The C K Nayudu award is India's highest cricket honour; it is annually presented for lifetime contribution to the game in the country and carries a cash purse of Rs 200,000.

Office-bearers and the committees:

Office-bearers: Sharad Pawar (president), Niranjan Shah (honorary secretary), M P Pandove (honorary joint-secretary), H Srinivasan (honorary treasurer).

Vice-presidents: Lalit Modi (North), D Narvekar (South), Rajeev Shukla (East), Chirayu Amin (West), Shashank Manohar (Central).

Senior selection committee: Dilip Vengsarkar (chairman - West), S Venkatpathy Raju (South), Bupendra Singh Sr (North), R Biswal (East), Sanjay Jagdale (Central), Niranjan Shah (hon. secretary/convenor).

Junior selection committee: Sanjeev Sharma (chairman - North), Kajol Das (East), V Chamundeshwarnath (South), Rakesh Parikh (West), Kailash Gattani (Central), M P Pandove (hon. joint secretary/convenor)

Tour programmes & fixtures committee: Shashank Manohar (chairman/vice-president), Anurag Thakur (North), K S Vishwanathan (South), Satya Mohanty (East), Hitesh Patel (West), Prem Pathak (Central), Niranjan Shah hon. secretary/convenor.

Finance committee: Sudhir Nanavati (chairman), Aslam Ghoni (North), Chetan Desai (South), Arindum Ganguly (East), Ravi Savant (West), K C Jena (Central), N Srinivasan (hon. treasurer/convenor).

Technical committee: Sunil Gavaskar (chairman), Samarjeet Gaikwad (West), S K Nair (South), Amitabh Choudhary (East), R P. Singla (North), Kamlakar Sharma (Central), Dilip Vengsarkar (chairman senior selection committee), Kiran More (former Test cricketer), Dr. Rambabu Gupta (former Test umpire), Niranjan Shah (hon. secretary/convenor).

Umpires sub- committee: Lalit Modi (chairman), Anirudh Chaudhary (North), Vinod Phadke (South), Bikas Baruah (East), Vikram Patel (West), M N Dorairajan (Central), M P Pandove (hon. Joint-secretary/convenor).

National Cricket Academy board: Kapil Dev (chairman), Ajay Shirke (vice-chairman), Shivlal Yadav (director), Lalchand Rajput (director - coaching), Ashok Bhagwat, Sunil Dev, Samar Pal, Sharad Pawar, Niranjan Shah, M P Pandove, N Srinivasan (all office-bearers).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Harish Kotian in Mumbai


World Test Championship 2023