You are here: Rediff Home » India » Cricket » Australia in India 2008 » Statistics
Search: The Web
   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print | Get latest news on your desktop

Shastri is India's best against Australia
Rajneesh Gupta
October 03, 2008

One team that always gives Australia [Images] a headache is India. Though known for its inconsistency, India always raises its game several notches when facing the World champions.

India are able to trouble the all-conquering Aussies because of the world class batsmen it has produced over the years.

A look at India's best players against Australia over the years reveals interesting details.

It is not Sachin Tendulkar [Images] who emerges the best batsman against Australia, but charimastic all-rounder Ravi Shastri.

Among the current lot, only VVS Laxman makes it to the all-time top 10.

Overall Test CareerRecord vs AustraliaDifference in Avg
RJ Shastri80383020635.79962220677.75+41.96
NR Mongia44144215224.03634815243.50+19.47
DG Phadkar31122912332.34531812345.43+13.09
ML Jaisimha39205612930.69643410143.40+12.71
GR Viswanath91608022241.93181538161*53.03+11.10
S Abid Ali2910188120.3653048130.40+10.04
SMH Kirmani88275910227.0517756101*36.00+8.95
Nawab of Pataudi Jr.462793203*34.9111829128*43.63+8.72
NJ Contractor31161110831.59648010840.00+8.41
VVS Laxman96600028143.8020182328150.64+6.84

The table below shows how batsmen from the current squad have performed against Australia. While VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag [Images] raised their level, others like Rahul Dravid [Images] and Sourav Ganguly [Images] failed to live upto expectations.

Overall Test CareerRecord against AustraliaDifference in Avg
VVS Laxman96600028143.8020182328150.64+6.84
V Sehwag59507431952.8510104919555.21+2.36
SR Tendulkar15011877248*54.23252352241*56.00+1.77
R Dravid1241022327054.3822171723347.69-6.68
SC Ganguly109688823941.7520107914431.74-10.01
MS Dhoni [Images]29141814833.7641413817.63-16.14
G Gambhir17100213937.111432.00-35.11

Complete coverage: Australia in India 2008

 Email  |    Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback