NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » I-League: Pune FC bt Churchill, finish 5th

I-League: Pune FC bt Churchill, finish 5th

May 31, 2011 20:54 IST

Pune FC scored a 3-2 victory over Churchill Brothers to finish I-League 2010-11 in fifth position. 

Reduced to ten men at the Nehru stadium, in Fatorda, Goa, after Othallo Tabia was sent off in the 79th minute for a double booking, Pune FC rode on a double strike by Mandjou Keita (5th and 89th minute) and a goal by Kamjeet Kumar (85th) to achieve the target they set themselves in the latter half of the season.

- Salgaocar emerge I-League champs

Keita Mandjou was man of the match.

The Goans scored both their goals through striker Odafe Okolie (45th and 77th minute), who first cancelled Pune FC's opener and then gave his side the lead.

The victory meant Pune FC have the distinction of beating each of the top four teams -- title winners Salgaocar, Dempo, Churchill Brothers and East Bengal -- at least once, thus justifying their final placing in the league this year.

Pune FC completed their engagements with 36 points and sealed fifth place, followed by Mohun Bagan and Mumbai FC.