NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » East Bengal open Fed Cup against qualifier

East Bengal open Fed Cup against qualifier

August 18, 2011 18:13 IST

Defending champions East Bengal kick-off their campaign against a qualifier, while I-League champions Salgaocar take on Mumbai FC on the inaugural day of the 33rd Federation Cup football tournament, on September 17 in Kolkata and Pune respectively.

East Bengal, who won the last edition in Cuttack, are clubbed in Group C along with Dempo, Pune FC and one of the four teams that will make it to the main round from the qualifiers. They play all their group matches in Kolkata.

Their arch-rivals from Kolkata, Mohun Bagan are placed in Group A and also begin their campaign against a qualifier on the inaugural day in Pune.

The draw for the Federation Cup at Football House in DelhiPune will also host other Group B matches, including those of Salgaocar, Pailan Arrows, Mumbai FC and Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

The Group D matches involving Prayag United SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Air India, Viva Kerala will be held in Kolkata.

The draw for the country's top league-cum-knock-out tournament was held at the AIFF headquarters in Delhi in the presence of all club representatives and Asian Football Confederation delegation.

The winners of each group qualify for the semi-finals, in Kolkata on September 25 and 26.

The final is slated for September 29, in Kolkata.

The Groups:

A: McDowell Mohun Bagan, Churchill Brothers, Shillong Lajong FC, Qualifier B

B: Pailan Arrows, Salgaocar Sports Club, Mumbai FC, HAL

C: Kingfisher East Bengal, Dempo SC, Pune FC, Qualifier A

D:  Prayag United SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Air India, Viva Kerala

The fixtures:

Group A (At Pune):

Sept 17: McDowell Mohun Bagan vs Qualifier B; Churchill Brothers vs Shillong Lajong FC.

Sept 19: Shillong Lajong FC vs McDowell Mohun Bagan; Qualifier B vs Churchill Brothers.

Sept 21: McDowell Mohun Bagan vs Churchill Brothers; Shillong Lajong FC vs Qualifier B.

Group B (At Pune):

Sept 18: Pailan Arrows vs HAL; Salgaocar SC vs Mumbai FC

Sept 20: Mumbai FC vs Pailan Arrows; HAL vs Salgaocar SC

Sept 22: Pailan Arrows vs Salgaocar SC; Mumbai FC vs HAL

Group C (At Kolkata):

Sept 17: Kingfisher East Bengal vs Qualifier A; Dempo SC vs Pune FC.

Sept 19: Pune FC vs Kingfisher East Bengal; Qualifier A vs Dempo SC.

Sept 21: Kingfisher East Bengal vs Dempo SC; Pune FC vs Qualifier A.

Group D (At Kolkata):

Sept 18: Prayag United SC vs Viva Kerala; Sporting Clube de Goa vs Air India

Sept 20: Air India vs Prayag United SC; Viva Kerala vs Sporting Clube de Goa

Sept 22: Prayag United SC vs Sporting Clube de Goa; Air India vs Viva Kerala

Semi-finals (Kolkata):

Sept 25: Group A winner vs Group B winner

Sept 26: Group C winner vs Group D winner

Sept 29: Final (Kolkata