NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Top seeds have it easy at All India Open Chess

Top seeds have it easy at All India Open Chess

January 05, 2003 23:11 IST

Barring two surprises when higher seeds K Visweswaran and C J Aravind were held by lower rated Uttam Sharma and Hari Babu respectively, the second round of the Dr Mahalingam Sathabishekam FIDE rated All-India Open Chess tournament ended on expected lines in Chennai on Sunday.

At the end of the round, except a few, all other rated players were sitting pretty with two points each.

On the top board, junior national star M R Venkatesh of Bharath Petroleum Corporation Limited made a piece sacrifice
to take control of eighth ranked Saravana Kumar in his favourite Sicilian Defence.

IMs N Sudhakar Babu (Indian Bank) and V Saravanan (BPCL) scored facile wins over P L Sivakami and R Ananth.

Results of the second round matches:
Saravana Krishnan P (1) lost to Venkatesh M R (2)
Deepan Chakaravorthy (2) beat Sridhar J (1)
Priyadarshini M (1) lost to Rathanakaran K (2)
Balasubramanian R (2) beat Saravanakumar J (1)
Sivakami P L (1) lost to Sudhakar Babu (2)
Saravanan V (2) beat Ananth R (1)
Purushothaman (1) lost to Poobesh Anand S (2)
Visweswaran (1.5) drew Uttam Sharma R (1.5)
Vijay Anand M (1) lost to Mari Arul S (2)
Aravind C J (1.5) drew Hari Babu V (1.5)
Sanjib Ghosh (1) lost to Muralikrishnan (2),
Laxman R R (2) beat Balachandar G (1)
Ranjith R K (1) lost to Gunasekaran K (2)
D P Singh (1.5) drew Sharavan Kumar Talwar (1.5)
Karthikeyan  P(1) lost to Sankar A (2)
Siddharth (2) beat Abdul Azeer S K (1)
Vineetha Wije Surya (1) lost to Anwar Shazuli Y S (2)
Subramaniam S C (2) beat Anand Raj M M (1)
Adhiban B (1) lost to Suresh Kumar T J (2)
Ravichandran V (1.5) drew Arun Karthik (1.5)
Aneeha Tahseen (1) lost to Adway Chowdhuri (2)
Anirban Gyha Roy (2) beat Ashwath R (1)
Ashwin (1) lost to Shantharam (2)
Natarajan C (2) beat Asokan P (1)
Intykhapalam M (2) beat Hariram G (1)
Ashwin V (1) lost to Hariharan v (2)
Gopala Krihsnan K (2) beat Saravanan A (1)
Charan R (1) lost to Chakravarthi K (2)
Sai Meera Ravi (2) beat Shaik Sydulu (1)
Mohammed Fawaz (1) lost to Venkataramana J (2).


© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.