NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » 5 Indian shuttlers in main draw

5 Indian shuttlers in main draw

December 21, 2010 20:02 IST

Five Indians qualified for the men's singles main draw of 32 in the Tata Open India Badminton Challenge at the Cricket Club of India courts in Mumbai on Tuesday.

Advancing to the main round were Bahal Mayank, Jolly Prakash, Rohan Castelino, Nigel D'Sa and K Nandagopal.

D'Sa was taken the distance by his opponent in the last qualifying round. He fought back from a game down to pack off Thailand's Sirivat Matayanumati 17-21, 21-8, 22-20 in 43 minutes.

Son of former doubles specialist Leroy, D'Sa will meet Indonesia's Riyanto Subagja in the first round on Wednesday.

Behal, Castelino and Nandagopal won in straight games against opponents from Nepal.

Nandagopal allowed Indra Mahata fight his way back from 14-20 to 18-20 before clinching the issue with a smash. He won 21-13, 21-18 in 20 minutes.

Castelino and Behal ousted Bibek Shreshta and Bishal Pradhan 21-13, 21-8 and 21-13, 21-14 in 20 and 25 minutes respectively.

Jolly brushed aside Bangladesh's Uddin Md Rais 21-17, 21-8 in half an hour to earn a first-round meeting with another qualifier, Lee Jian Jee of Malaysia, who advanced with a 21-17, 21-6 victory over Bangla rival Mostafa Mohammed Jabed.

The last two places in the main draw were grabbed by Indonesia's Tene Andre Marteen and Bangladesh's Enayetullah Khan.

Indonesia's Yunus Alamsyah and India's Ajay Jayaram are the top two seeds in the men's section while Indonesia's Ratnasari Fransiska is the favourite for the women's title with India's Trupti Murgunde seeded fourth.

India's Anand Pawar, seeded third, pulled out of the championship as he was stuck in Europe following cancellation of several flights due to snow and freezing conditions, and it took him 60 hours to reach Mumbai.

"He's totally exhausted and that's why he's pulled out," Anand's father Uday, a former international, said.

The other seeded Indians in the men's singles main draw are Arvind Bhat, seeded fourth, and Anup Sridhar.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.