NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Voters oust seven ministers in Narendra Modi's cabinet

Voters oust seven ministers in Narendra Modi's cabinet

December 20, 2012 22:37 IST

Even as Chief Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday scored a hat-trick by leading his party to another resounding victory, seven of his ministers, including government spokesperson Jaynarayan Vyas, lost in the polls.

Of the seven ministers who have lost, three are Cabinet ministers.

Agriculture Minister Dileep Sanghani lost to Paresh Dhanani of the Congress by a margin of 29,893 votes from Amrelit.

Health Minister Jaynarayan Vyas was humbled by Balvantsinh Rajput of Congress at Siddhpur in Patan district by 25,824 votes. Vyas had defeated Rajput by a margin of 2,429 votes in 2007.

Similarly, Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Fakirbhai Vaghela lost to Congress's Jethabhai Vaghela by a margin of 22,839 votes from Vadgam in Banaskantha district.

Among junior ministers, Minister of State for Forest and Environment Kiritsinh Rana put up a brave fight but lost to sitting Congress Member of Parliament Soma Ganda by a margin of 1,561 votes from Limbdi assembly seat in Surendranagar district.

Minister of State for Agriculture Kanubhai Bhalala was defeated by Gujarat Parivartan Party president Keshubhai Patel at Visavadar by a margin of 42,186 votes.

Minister of State for Home Praful Patel too lost his Himatnagar seat by a margin of 12,356 votes to Rajendrasinh Chavda of Congress.

Minister of State for Education Jaisinh Chauhan lost to Congress's Mahendrasinh Baraiya by a margin of 7,014 votes from Prantij in Himatnagar district.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.