NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » SP storms to power in UP; Akali-BJP retain Punjab

SP storms to power in UP; Akali-BJP retain Punjab

March 06, 2012 18:42 IST

Riding an anti-incumbency wave, the Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh dislodging Mayawati while the ruling the Akali Dal-BJP combine sprang a surprise retaining power in Punjab and creating a history in the state by breaking a 46-year jinx.

The Bharatiya Janata Party bagged Goa, ousting Congress, which managed to hold on to power in Manipur for a third successive term.

Uttarakhand proved to be a cliff-hanger of a contest with the Congress emerging the single largest party at 32 having a wafer thin lead over ruling BJP's 31.

The Samajwadi Party announced that Mulayam Singh would be the chief minister while Akali Dal said it would be Prakash Singh Badal in Punjab. In the heartland battle in Uttar Pradesh, Mulayam Singh-led SP knocked out BSP by winning 160 seats and leading in 61 others in the 403-member House.

The ruling party was reduced to 80 seats from 206 it had in outgoing House.

The BSP has so far won 52 seats and was ahead in 27 seats. The Samajwadi Party had won 97 seats in the 2007 elections. While the BJP barely managed to repeat its 2007 performance. It has won 34 seats and was ahead in 16 others.

It had won 51 seats in 2007 elections. Equally dismal was the performance of Congress, which sought to make big strides with spirited campaign by Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi, winning only 19 seats and leading in nine. The party had won 22 seats in the last elections.

The shock for Congress came from Punjab, which it was widely expected to wrest from Akali Dal-BJP combine. The ruling coalition has won 68 seats, nine more than required simple majority.

In all, the combine has registered a net loss of one seat from 2007 results. But the break up shows that Akali Dal has gone up from 50 to 56 seats while the BJP lost seven seats from 19 to win only 12 now.

The Congress won 46 seats, a gain of four from last elections.

The sole relief for Congress came from Manipur where the Party registered a spectacular success winning 35 seats in a House of 60 and was leading in seven others. The Trinamool Congress, which is set to become the principal opposition, has won seven seats.

The party lost its government in Goa to BJP which has won 19 seats in the 40-member House and was ahead in one while its rally has won three seats. The ruling Congress put up a dismal performance bagging nine seats against 16 it won in the previous elections.

The BJP had won 14 seats in the last elections. 'Others' accounted for seven seats in Goa.

Uttrakhand witnessed a see-saw battle in which the leads shifted continuously. At 1800 Hrs, it was the Congress which had a wafer thin lead of one over the BJP. The Congress won 19 seats and was ahead in 13 while the ruling BJP won 24 and was ahead in seven.

The BJP, which has said the Governor should invite the party to form the government claims the support of lone Uttarkhand Kranti Dal-Panwar winner and three independents. Interestingly, the BSP has won one seat and was ahead in two.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.