NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » SC gets five new judges

SC gets five new judges

February 17, 2017 11:46 IST

Five new Supreme Court judges were on Friday sworn-in, taking the apex court’s strength to 28, including the Chief Justice of India.

Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Navin Sinha, Mohan M Shantanagoudar, Deepak Gupta and S Abdul Nazeer were administered the oath of office by Chief Justice J S Khehar on Friday morning.

Justice Kaul was the Chief Justice of Madras high court while Justice Sinha was the Chief Justice of Rajasthan high court.

Justices Shantanagoudar and Gupta were the chief justices of Kerala and Chhattisgarh high courts respectively and Justice Nazeer was a judge in the Karnataka high court.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the apex court is 31, including the CJI.

President Pranab Mukherjee had recently signed their Warrants of Appointment.c

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.