NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Mamata's Trinamool wins crucial Howrah by-poll

Mamata's Trinamool wins crucial Howrah by-poll

June 05, 2013 15:29 IST

Trinamool Congress candidate Prasun Banerjee on Wednesday won the Howrah Lok Sabha seat in a by-election defeating his nearest rival, Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate Sridip Bhattacherjee, by over 27,000 votes.

Though official results were still to be declared, Election Commission sources said that Prasun Banerjee secured 4,26,273 votes and Sridip Bhattacherjee 3,99,258 votes. Congress candidate Sanatan Mukherjee was in third spot polling 96,727 votes.

The sources said that counting of 300 votes in one EVM, which developed a technical malfunction would be taken up before the official declaration of the result. The seat fell vacant following the death of TMC MP Ambika Banerjee.

Senior TMC leader and Panchayat Minister Subrata Mukherjee told reporters that the poll result would give a boost to the party before next month's crucial panchayat elections. The result prove that people reposed their faith on the performance of Mamata Banerjee government in the past two years, he also said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.