NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Mamata elected Trinamool's legislature party leader

Mamata elected Trinamool's legislature party leader

May 15, 2011 18:53 IST

Mamata Banerjee was on Sunday formally elected Trinamool Congress's Legislature Party leader.

Two days after her party stormed to power with three-fourths majority, ending 34 years of Left Front rule in West Bengal, the name of 56-year-old Banerjee as TCLP leader was proposed by Subrata Bakshi.

The formality of her election was completed at Maharashtra Niwas hall in south Kolkata where all the 184 newly-elected Trinamool Congress members of legislative assembly were present.

Addressing the meeting, Banerjee said she was happy that the Congress had submitted a letter of support to a Trinamool Congress-led ministry to Governor M K Narayanan.

"We will also submit a letter to the governor (with the list of supporters)," she said.

She said that her ministry would be small in size and the Congress would take part in it.

The SUCI, which won one seat, has been requested to join the ministry, she said.

"The SUCI has said it will let us know," she said.

Trinamool leader Partha Chatterjee was elected deputy leader and Sobhandev Chattopadhyay the Chief Whip. Jyotipriya Mullick was elected treasurer.

Railway Minister Banerjee, who is a member of Lok Sabha from a Kolkata constituency, will have to get herself elected to the state assembly within six months.

She is likely to contest from a constituency in south Kolkata, TC sources said.

"People have voted us to power to end Left Front's misrule of 34 years and it is our foremost responsibility to respect the verdict, honour the mandate and keep our promises," Banerjee said, dedicating the success of the Trinamool Congress to the victory of 'Ma, Mati and Manush (Mother, Land and People).'

"This massive electoral success, the second victory of independence has been possible because of those who love us, support us and assist us," she said, adding that the party's victory rally would be held at the Brigade Parade Ground on July 27.

Stating that she remembered the martyrs of the party with tears in her eyes, she said, "I am grateful to the struggling people of Singur, Nandigram, Netai, Mongalkot, Chamkaitola who fought to uphold their democratic rights which were trampled on by the Front government."

Banerjee said she totally disapproved of violence and revenge and told her MLAs, "Don't fall into the trap they (CPI-M) may have set. I ask you not to encourage unrest. I instruct you to ensure that none is assaulted or beaten up and no party office set on fire."

"They (CPI-M) beat us, injured us, killed us, torched our houses, and committed many crimes on our people. But people voted them out and it is the right punishment," Banerjee said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.