NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » K'taka: Yeddyurappa's ministers withdraw resignations

K'taka: Yeddyurappa's ministers withdraw resignations

July 02, 2012 10:45 IST

Nine Karnataka ministers from the B S Yeddyurappa camp withdrew their resignation on Monday after being assured by the central Bharatiya Janata Party to resolve the ongoing crisis.

Loyalists of the former Karnataka CM had resigned on Friday demanding an immediate change of guard in Karnataka.

"We have withdrawn our resignations to give a free hand and create a congenial atmosphere to resolve the crisis." said Karnataka Water Resources

Minister Basavaraj Bommai.

However, senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley and party president Nitin Gadkari stepped in and assured that all issues will be looked into.

The Yeddyurappa faction had set a deadline of July 5 for replacing Sadananda Gowda with Jagadish Shettar, the rural and panchayati raj minister and Yeddyurappa's preferred choice. It also claimed to have the support of 50 MLAs, who they said were willing to resign en masse, if Gowda isn't removed by that date.

With inputs from PTI

Vicky Nanjappa