NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » K'taka BJP seeks disqualification of 5 MLCs

K'taka BJP seeks disqualification of 5 MLCs

January 29, 2013 16:05 IST

A day after seeking disqualification of 12 of its rebel MLAs, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party Tuesday moved a complaint, urging similar action against five MLCs for alleged 'anti-party' activities.

 BJP spokesmen Ashwathnarayana and Somanna  Bevinamarada, both MLCs, filed a complaint before Legislative Council Secretary V Shreesh, praying for disqualification of five MLCs.

The party wants B J Puttaswamy, Mohan Limbikai, Bharathi Shetty, Mumtaz Ali Khan and Shivaraj Sajjanar disqualified with effect from Dec 9, 2012, the day they participated in a Karnataka Janata Party rally at Haveri.

They contended that the MLCs attract provisions of 2(1) A of the 10th schedule of the Constitution by aligning with another political party's activities, though elected as BJP members.

On Monday the BJP had moved a petition for disqualification of 12 MLAs who have identified with B S Yeddyurappa's party, Karnataka Janata Party.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.