NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Four Indian Americans selected as White House Fellows

Four Indian Americans selected as White House Fellows

May 06, 2009 02:01 IST
Four Indian Americans have been selected to the prestigious White House Fellows; whom the First Lady said represents America's "most promising leaders."

In all 30 individuals from across the country has been selected for the White House Fellowship Programme.

Indian Americans who have made to this coveted list are Sudip Bose, Anish Mahajan, Raj Shah and Manish Sethi.

While Sudip Bose is an attending emergency physician at Advocate Christ Medical Center; Chicago; Anish Mahajan is a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar at Poughkeepsie in New York.

Manish Sethi, is a Surgical Resident at the Harvard Combined Orthopedics Program at Brookline in Massachusetts; and Raj Shah is an MBA studying at the University of Pennsylvania Wharton School of Business; Bonaire in Georgia.

The White House said these finalists were selected, in part, because of their exceptional record of incorporating service into their professional pursuits. "This year's finalists represent some of our nation's most promising leaders," said the United States First Lady Michelle Obama.

"Most importantly, each one of the White House Fellow's finalists has found a way to positively impact the lives of those around them," she said in a statement. White House Fellows spend a year working as special paid assistants to senior White House staff.

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one's career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the federal government.

Throughout its history, the program has fostered leaders in many fields including former Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, former Secretary of State Colin Powell, retired US Army General Wesley Clark, US Senator Samuel Brownback, US Representative Joe Barton, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr Sanjay Gupta, writer Doris Kearns Goodwin, former Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, former CNN Chairman and CEO Tom Johnson, managing partner of Nogales Investors and former Univision president Luis Nogales, and US Court of Appeals Judges M Margaret McKeown and Deanell Reece Tacha.

The White House Fellows Program was founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B Johnson. This non-partisan program offers exceptional men and women experience working at the highest levels of the federal government.

Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors. Following the program, fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the country as national leaders and public servants, the White House said.

Lalit K Jha in Washington D.C
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.