NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Cong suspends 2 MLAs for cross voting in WB RS polls

Cong suspends 2 MLAs for cross voting in WB RS polls

February 07, 2014 16:30 IST

The Congress on Friday suspended two of its legislators for voting for the Trinamool Congress in the Rajya Sabha biennial election for five seats in West Bengal.

The two suspended members of Legislative Assembly are Sushil Roy and Emani Biswas.

"We had been receiving complaints about these MLAs for a long time and an enquiry was going on. Both these MLAs were suspended on Friday for anti-party activities," West Bengal PCC chief Pradip Bhattacherjee told PTI.

Biswas was an MLA from Suti in Murshidabad district, while Roy represented Gajol seat in Malda district.  Bhattacherjee earlier told a local TV channel, "Chitfund money was used for purchasing the MLAs. There was no instance in West Bengal earlier of votes being purchased."

Three Left MLAs Sunil Mondal of Forward Bloc, Ananta Deb Adhikary and Dasarath Tirkey both from RSP, and Congress MLAs Roy and Biswas also voted in favour of TMC nominee Ahmed Hasan.

In the poll for five seats, Trinamool has fielded candidates in four seats, the Left Front in one and the Congress along with the Left have nominated an Independent A S Malihabadi.

Commenting on the developments, TMC General Secretary Mukul Roy said, "There are known Left leaders who have now voted for us for ideological reasons. We thank them."

Expressing dismay over cross-voting, former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee said, "This is deplorable. I don't respect people who violate party lines and vote."

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.