NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » BSP to fight on all seats in Kerala assembly polls

BSP to fight on all seats in Kerala assembly polls

March 12, 2011 22:42 IST
The Bahujan Samaj Party will contest in all the 140 assembly seats in Kerala in the forthcoming elections, scheduled to be held on April 13. Speaking to mediapersons on Saturday, Gafoor Puthuppadi, general secretary, BSP Kerala unit, alleged that both the ruling Communist part of India-Marxist led Left Democratic Front and the Congress-led opposition United Democratic Front were anti-development, and had betrayed people's expectations.

He said both LDF and UDF are equally responsible for the rise in the

prices of commodities. Pointing that the people of Kerala also have no liking for the Bharatiya Janata Party, he said those who want to get rid of both the fronts could accept BSP. He said a possible list of 520 candidates has been submitted to national BSP resident Mayawati.

The final list will be announced by Suresh Mane, National BSP general secretary and Promod Kureel, member of Parliament and Secretary BSP, on March 18 at Kochi, he said. As part of the 77th birth anniversary of BSP founder late Kanshi Ram, various programmes will be organised across the state, he added.
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.